Libraries Ask Us

Political Science 252: Globalization, Governance & World Order

Article databases

Art Abstracts




An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective




An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
Bibliography of the History of Art

Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.
Grove Dictionary of Art




The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.
MLA International Bibliography

An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Finding scholarly articles

Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Article databases

Globalization, Governance & World Order

Below are the principle databases which can help you access scholarly articles on this topic.

International Political Science Abstracts
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals, 1951-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present. (JSTOR is 100% full-text.)

PAIS International
Public and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1915-.

International Political Science Abstracts
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals, 1951-present.

Columbia International Affairs Online: CIAO
Full-text working and position papers, books, and journals, from international affairs research institutes, 1991-present.

Sage Journals Online
More than 485 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine, 1999-present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite
A starting point for federal government research. Directories, yearbooks, and documents from all three branches. Current.

PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers
Papers on specialized topics in economics from a nonpartisan thinktank, 1998-present.

Globalization is a broad topic, which touches upon economics, sociology, education, law, etc. Use the database locator to find other indexes and full-text resources which might aid in your work.

Internet links

The following websites are recommended by Professor Haas on the topic:

http://www.americanprogress.org
http://www.newamerica.net/issues/global
http://www.globalpolicy.org/globalization.html
http://www.gppi.net/
http://www.cfr.org/issue
http://yaleglobal.yale.edu

Book searching

Beyond searching the Five Colleges combined library catalog, students should also search WorldCat, which will give them access to a database with over a billion holdings worldwide.

You can access WorldCat in three ways: using UMA WorldCat on the library home page, as a dedicated database search, and as a free, publicly-accessible site. However, the last will not function with Interlibrary Loan.

Some suggested subject headings include:

Globalization
International economic relations
Transnationalism
World politics
Civil society
Social justice
etc., etc.
Each of these headings contains numerous subheadings, highlighting these issues in countries, regions, etc.

For further assistance, please contact

Dr. Peter Stern
Political Science Bibliographer
545-3967
pstern@library.umass.edu

RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!