Libraries Ask Us

POLI SCI 499CC - Energy Politics

Fall 2019; Regine Spector

Resources

General

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Environmental science databases
Databases and resources in environmental sciences.
Sustainability studies databases
Databases and resources in sustainability studies.

Law & policy - United States

ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Westlaw Campus Research
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Subject Compilations of State Laws
An index of articles, books, court opinions, and other publications that compare state laws, with many links to full text. Searchable by subject, 1925-current with a two year lag.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Law Library
Unique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions, as well as the Massachusetts Register. Users can also access Fastcase legal research service, and the Legal Information Reference Center which includes information and forms for patrons of varying legal expertise.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

OurEnergyPolicy Resource Library
A free online collection of reports on energy policy issues from various organizations (including governmental).

Law & policy - International

United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
The website of the UNFCCC, which includes the text of the treaty as well as information on topics related to global climate change.

World Treaty Library
Original, major treaty sets including Rohn’s treaty index, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Columbia International Affairs Online: CIAO
Full-text working and position papers, books, and journals - from international affairs research institutes, 1991-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

GlobaLex
A collection of resources on international, foreign, and comparative law. Includes summaries of the governmental and legal systems of 180 countries.

News

Access World News - Historical and Current
Includes current and archived news content (with backfiles beginning in the 1980s) from more than 7,050 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories across the globe.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Combined search of historic Afro-American and ethnic and alternative newspapers, and historical Boston Globe, New York Times, and Washington Post.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Polls & statistics

iPOLL
Over 650,000 public opinion survey questions and answers - from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Survey from 1935 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyMap
Map-creation tool for visualizing many categories of data: income, housing, quality of life, federal guidelines, and more.
To learn how to use PolicyMap, see their YouTube channel for videos: https://www.youtube.com/@PolicyMap.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Environmental Dataset Gateway
Data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
International Environmental Data
Data from OED.