Libraries Ask Us

Architecture

Welcome to the library research guide for Architecture students, faculty, staff and the general public. Feedback and recommendations always welcome.

Welcome

Welcome to the Architecture research guide.

Use this guide as a starting point in your research for architecture. The tabs on the left have more information about the following topics:

If you need any help with your research, please contact your librarian Madeleine!

Find articles: Library database

AP Images
Associated Press' library of photographs back to 1826, plus news stories, graphics and audio 1997-present. Mac: Requires latest version of Safari or Firefox for Mac, or OS 10 and higher.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Art and Architecture Source
Full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design with international coverage.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BuildingGreen Suite
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Design and Applied Arts Index
Citations to articles in design and arts and crafts journals, 1980's-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Luna Image Collections
Several collections of art images and photography, from sources including the UMass Department of the History of Art and Architecture, The AMICA Library, and Archivision.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Sometimes browsing in the books at the library can be serendipitous and you can find the exact thing you need!

Call number ranges for architecture: NA1 -- NA9428

Subject headings are really helpful when searching in our catalog or databases. If you find a really helpful item, make sure to take a look at the subject headings and use them in combinations or just click on them to see more.

Some, but not all, of the subject headings that might be helpful for architecture:

Buildings-Design and construction
Building
Construction
Engineering, Architectural
Regional planning
Urban planning
Building-Superintendence
Construction industry-Management
Building -- Superintendence
Building materials
Building Construction and Design
Landscape/Regional and Urban Planning
Construction Management
Building Materials