History of the 1960's - Fall 2018
W.E.B. Du Bois Library, Lower Level
Subjects: Genealogy, History, Public History
Newspapers with current news:
- Boston Globe This link opens in a new windowMassachusetts' newspaper of record, 1980-present. Recent content is fully digitized from Jan 1, 2008 (Vol. 273) - present (delayed 3 months).
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe entire New York Times, searchable, in PDF format, from 1851 to three years ago.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCombined search of historic Afro-American and ethnic and alternative newspapers, and historical Boston Globe, New York Times, and Washington Post.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Massachusetts Daily CollegianThe Massachusetts Daily Collegian, successor to the College Signal, began as a weekly student newspaper in 1914. In 1951 it moved to semi-weekly publication and then to three-times-weekly in 1957. In 1967 it became a daily newspaper, changing its title slightly to the Massachusetts Daily Collegian. From the early 1930s to the late 1940s, Professor Maxwell Goldberg guided the Collegian staff as faculty advisor, however today, the paper operates without a faculty advisor as a financially independent agency funded by advertisement monies.
The Collegian has been digitized by academic year, which at different times began in either September or October and ended in May or June. The Collegian also occasionally published a summer edition or issue.
Digital files are hosted on the Internet Archive.
The collecting focus of the UMass Amherst Archives and Special Collections is "social change," so the Libraries have a lot of materials that could be very useful to you as you research your topics.
- University Archives and Special CollectionsTo search for digitized items, click on "digital" in the top right corner of the main site, and then click on the "advanced" link below the search box. In the "dates" field make sure you enter the start and end dates that you are interested in (ex: 1960-1970).
- Last Updated: Aug 9, 2021 10:45 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/c.php?g=878120
- Print Page