W.EB. Du Bois Library 720 Experimental Classroom
This guide supports the use of the LIBR 720 Experimental Classroom.
General Library Instruction Templates
- Finding Sources (50 minutes)This 50-minute sample class provides students with a basic introduction to Discovery Search, Databases, and Google Scholar.
- Evaluating Web Sources (25 minutes)This brief session asks students to find sites that discuss evaluating web resources, then to work together to determine whether two websites are appropriate sources for a scholarly paper.
- Generating and Refining Keyword Searches (45 minutes)In this session, students are given a sample paper topic (this topic will vary based on discipline and whether students have an actual assignment in hand) and asked to brainstorm, test, and refine their searching, with assistance and instruction from the Librarian.
- Finding & Evaluating Sources (45 minutes)In this session, students are given a paper prompt and asked to begin the research process as they would normally. Working in groups with the Librarian, the class discusses search strategies and the advantages of searching in a variety of resources.
Lesson Plans adapted from Flynn Discovery & Collaboration Space LibGuide at Stonehill College.
- Business Source Complete (45 minutes)In this session, the Libarian introduces students to a discipline-specific database, then has them work in groups to conduct sample searches that highlight the database's features and resources. This activity can be adapted to focus on any of our discipline-specific resources.
- Finding the Right Database (20 minutes)This brief session teaches students how to navigate the Library website in order to find the right discipline-specific databases to meet their research needs.
- Determining Full-Text Access to a Journal Title (20 minutes)Many of our databases are index databases or include partial, but not complete, full-text access. In these instances, students need to know how to determine if a journal title is available in full-text in another database or in our eJournals. This brief activity shows students how to determine full-text availability for journal titles.
Lesson plans adapted from Flynn Discovery & Collaboration Space LibGuide at Stonehill College.
- Last Updated: Oct 5, 2018 11:46 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/c.php?g=873196
- Print Page