JYW: Writing in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Finding Peer Reviewed Journals at UMass
Many of your assignments will require you to locate articles from Peer-Reviewed journals. Some databases include an option to limit your search results to only articles from peer-reviewed journal.
Other databases, like PubMed, do not. There are several ways you can find out if a journal is peer-reviewed.
One of the easiest ways is to look the journal title up using the e-journals link on the UMass Amherst Libraries home page. It will say "peer-reviewed" next to the title if it is.
Or, you can look it up in the Ulrich's database (linked below). Peer-reviewed (also called refereed) journals will have this symbol next to the title:
Step-by-Step InstructionsHandout shared in class with step-by-step instructions on how to find out if a journal is Peer-Reviewed
Finding E-books at UMass
UMass Amherst Libraries has access to several E-book collections.
ebraryScholarly and popular books online in full text, from 1990 to present.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCollection of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works.
EBSCO E-book CollectionScholarly and popular books online, in full text, various dates. (Formerly known as Netlibrary)
Oxford Reference OnlineEntries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject and language dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.
- Last Updated: Jul 30, 2021 5:07 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/c.php?g=789740
- Print Page