Business Collection

3,000 CBS 60 Minutes videos - 1997-2014.

Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.

Content Type: Accounting journal articles. Description: For accounting academics and professionals - top accounting journals, including all journals from the American Accounting Association. Trade publications from CCH, Aspen, Thompson, Source Media and Euromoney.

Searchable directory of US and foreign companies with substantial overseas operations. Search by geographic location, industry, sales, employees, and keyword. UMass students - you can use this database to locate potential overseas US employers.

American FactFinder has been discontinued. This link will go to Data.gov, where the same information is available.

The Asian business collection focuses on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions in the Eastern Hemisphere.

Content Type: Business journal articles. Description: Financial services research tool - academic and trade journals, industry newsletters. Articles from 530 full-text sources.

Content type: Market research reports. Description: BCC reports analyze the industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology marketplace. Industry focus: life sciences, advanced materials, manufacturing, chemical, engineering.

Indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.

Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.

Overview of key concepts, table of contents and related readings for business books.

Content Type: Small business plans. Description: 300 sample plans demonstrate how to approach, structure and compose effective business plans. Each plan includes a business objective, market profile, personnel plans, and finances.

Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present.

Author instructions for journal article submissions - publishing policies and guidelines - scholarly journals in accounting, education, economics, business, psychology, and psychiatry.

Content type: Career planning resources. Description: Career guides, profession profiles, industry trends, employer reviews, job banks, resume/interview tools.

First Time Users: You must create an account with UMass Amherst email address using the Sign Up link on the login page.

CB Insights provide a real-time listing of US venture capital/private equity deals. Search by keyword for deals, companies, or investors. Filter results by industry, investor type, investment stage, deal size, funding amount, geographic location.

Higher education news, information, and jobs postings for college and university faculty and administrators. Browse issues 2015 to current. Issues prior to 2015 dating back to 1989 can be found via the UMass Libraries eJournal A-Z list.

Content type: Company directory. Description: Current, comprehensive listing of US/Canadian venture capital and private equity firms - 3,000 firms, 1,000 branches, 12,000 partners, plus 15,000 portfolio companies. Sample pages.

Directory organization: Four major sections: domestic firms, Canadian firms, domestic associations, and international firms. Indexes: Firm name, average investment, fund size, geographic index, industry preference index, portfolio companies index, executive index, college/university index.

Firm profiles includes: redbullet contact information redbullet mission statement redbullet industry group preference redbullet portfolio companies redbullet geographic preference redbullet average and minimum investment redbullet investment criteria redbullet partner biographies redbullet

EIU, the research division of The Economist Group, publisher of the Economist Magazine, analyzes the current economic, political and market conditions in 200 countries. Each report includes a 12 -18 month macroeconomic forecast.

400 current market reports - focus on the Internet, digital marketing/advertising, mobile communication, e-business, social media and emerging technologies. Easy output tables and charts - market trends, internet user demographics, e-commerce consumer behavior.

Directory of organizations, associations and non-profit membership groups in three parts: National, International, Regional/local. Provides contact information and descriptions; searchable by subject.

Explores the development and influence of sports in American culture, as well as how sports icons, commercial enterprises, organizations, sporting events, and even fan culture have changed from decade to decade and from era to era, from the foot races of colonial times to the extreme sports of today.

Scholarly resources and practitioner tools for enterprise and innovation research - annual reports, journals & magazines, blogs, business cases, business plans, forms & templates, dissertations, e-books, how-to guides, streaming video clips.

Directory of environmental resource organizations, events and statistics.
Section I - Organizations: Associations, conferences and trade shows, foundations and charities, government agencies, national parks and wildlife refuges, publications, research centers and educational programs.
Section II - Statistics: Children’s Environmental Index, municipal finances, toxic chemicals, recycling, climate, air quality, water quality.

SG Manager provides (E) environmental, (S) social, and (G) governance reports for 6,000 global companies, including 3,000 US public companies. Search by ticker, industry, country, IVA rating (AAA to CCC) and controversial business screening. Click a company name to view output options.
Three report-types are available for each company:
1. Intangible Value Assessment Report - measures a company's environmental, social and governance performance.
2. Impact Monitor Report - assessment of major controversies related to a company's operation and/or products, e.g., worker accidents.
3. ESG Industry Report - ESG industry-level trends. Compares IVA ratings for major companies within an industry.

Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.

Brief IT market analysis reports - IT infrastructure, telecommunications, technology vendors, wireless communication, data networking, healthcare IT, Linux/Open source, security, enterprise systems, streaming media.

Tracks new product launches in 86 markets globally and updated daily with over 2,000 products across 270 subcategories monitoring over 140 product claims. Identify and compare industry, category, flavor, ingredient, nutrition, and packaging trends across all CPG categories.

Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.

The entire New York Times, searchable, in PDF format, from 1851 to three years ago.

Statistics gathered by the Census Bureau, with scholarly editing and essays, from colonial times to near present.

500 hospitality/tourism journals, magazines and trade publications. This database supports teaching and research at the UMass Hospitality & Tourism Department.

US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.

Industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios - solvency, efficiency, and profitability ratios - across seven asset ranges. 800 lines of business compared.

Six-page essays on the history of America's leading companies. 11,000 companies covered. Each essay includes statistics, dates, founders, company development, financial history, mergers/acquisitions, marketing campaign effectiveness, labor/management actions and competitors.

Over 650,000 public opinion survey questions and answers - from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Survey from 1935 to present.

A tool that measures the comparative impact of scholarly journals, 2003-present.

Company profiles with SWOT analysis. US and foreign industry/market reports. Country analysis from a business perspective. Case studies of major companies. Country Statistics Database - 750 business indicators.

Market reports - focus on business/financial services, consumer goods, travel, food/beverage, agriculture, energy and resources, construction, biotechnology, diagnostics, healthcare, medical devices, pharmaceuticals, e-commerce, IT outsourcing, networking, and telecommunications.

Access CFRA’s investment analysis, market commentary, news, and data

Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.

Historic company reports - Archive collection of the Moody's Manuals - annual public company report collection, 1909 to 2000.

This database features a deep collection of comprehensive worldwide business information, including information from Hoover's, First Research and the D&B Million Dollar Database. Includes detailed information on over 245 million businesses with contact information for executives, demographics and behavior types for US households, Nielsen Pop Fact reports, and global corporate family trees.

Investment analysis and advisory service. 4,000 equity research reports with buy, hold and sell recommendations. Five-year financial highlights and daily equity pricing. Annual reports and SEC filings for 10 years. Multiple financial screening criteria.

Reports and financial data - all public companies worldwide. 15 years of balance sheet, income and ratio data. Annual reports, SEC Filings. Also includes D&B 20 Million Plus Database - reports and financial data for private companies worldwide.

1,000+ current consumer market reports - analyze consumer market drivers, market size, segmentation, consumer characteristics, supply structure, advertising, promotion, retail distribution. SECTORS: Automotive, beauty, fashion, financial services, food & drink, food service, health & wellness, household, leisure, entertainment, travel, tourism.

Market share data for 30 countries - market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide - alcoholic drinks, beauty, personal goods, toiletries, food & beverage, food service, household, clothing, pharmaceuticals, automotive, footwear, consumer electronics, travel, media, personal finance, retail, telecommunications.

Global consumer/culture trends tool - provides strategic, evidence-backed insights on today’s consumer. Analyze changes in culture, society, brands and markets. UMass students use Mintel Trends to understand consumer behaviors and why they change, generate original product proposals, and create better product promotions.

Stock and mutual fund reports. Investment analyst opinions/ratings - 1,700 US stocks (all NYSE, NASDAQ, ASE), 2,200 mutual funds, and 400 exchange traded funds. Includes stock/fund screener, Portfolio X-ray, Morningstar newsletters, video features and educational tools.

NBER researchers working papers analyze the US economy. They are aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published annually. Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization based in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

NYTimes.com Academic Pass users have access to the New York Times from 1851 to present, plus all multimedia, and to the NYT smartphone app.

Cancelled as of 6/30/19. Please click on the link for a list of resources that contain content that was in Nexis Uni.

Publications of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Books, reports and data for every OECD country. Coverage from 1998 to present, with data sets back to the 1960s.

Each Oxford Handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles, signed by top scholars in their field, review key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how future research might evolve.

Must login in with UMass NetID and Password
20,000 business, technology and digital media e-books from the best business/technology publishers - O'Reilly, Sams, John Wiley, Sybex, Que, Career Press, Jossey-Bass, McGraw-Hill, AMACON, Oracle Press, Microsoft and many more.

PBS documentaries for all PBS documentary series.

Market and industry trend analysis for 35 US industry sectors. Includes statistical tables, business intelligence, key industry associations, corporate executive contacts, industry glossary.

Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Map-creation tool for visualizing many categories of data: income, housing, quality of life, federal guidelines, and more.

US corporate history through annual reports - 800 leading US companies, 150 years of historical coverage - 42,000 reports, earliest from 1844.

Statistics from U.S. agencies on population, society, trade, the government, and much more, 2013-present. This for-profit version continues Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012.

Content type: Company directory. Description: Directory of 9,000 advertising agencies worldwide and 15,000 global advertisers. Identify key decision-makers and brand clients. Visualize a company's media spending by media category.

ReferenceUSA is a searchable directory of all known US businesses (24 million business records) - searchable by company name, type of business (SIC, NAICS or keyword), size of business (annual sales or employee count). Search results include "corporate linkage" - link up to the parent company or link down to subsidiaries.

Full-text business news from 110 US and Canadian regional business publications. Coverage of all metro and regional markets - from 1990 to present. Use this resource to locate hard-to-find local and regional business news.

Ten market research yearbooks from publisher Richard K. Miller Associates. Analyze B-to-B and B-to-C markets - entertainment, media, advertising, healthcare, food & beverage, restaurants, sports, travel & tourism. Convenient full-book output in PDF format.

Search over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. Approximately 60% of these were conducted in the United States; 8,000 datasets are from over 100 countries.

Curriculum-oriented reports, short articles, data and expert views on newsworthy or controversial topics.

More than 645 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine, 1999-present.

Must create an account with UMass Amherst email address.

SimplyMap provides users with over 70,000 variables related to demographics, marketing, product usage, points-of-interest, consumer behavior and lifestyle segmentation for the United States at all levels of geography (States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups).

Maps illustrating Census data from 1790 to 2010, with recent community, religion, and carbon emissions data.

Provides indexing and citation tracking for journals in all the social sciences, 1900-present.

SportBusiness analyzes the commercial business of sport through its flagship magazine - SportBusiness International, and through the SportBusiness Knowledge Centre - sport business reports, video analysis, case studies and interviews with TV sport and sport sponsorship insiders.

Full-text sports and sport medicine journals. Subject coverage: coaching, consumer health, exercise science, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health/safety, physical education, physical therapy, sport sciences. Includes the NCAA News, 2005 to present.

Annual time-series data - sports participation, sports attendance, sporting goods sales. Sports trade journal articles. Directories - associations/governing bodies, high school, college and pro sports, sporting goods vendors, sport management education.

Access to the who, what and where of the sports industry. Use this resource to identify current information about people, organizations and events.

Index to sources of statistical information.

Executive summaries - 200+ current issues in sustainability, including bibliographies. Describes best practices regarding environmental impacts, pollution prevention, corporate citizenship and business policy.

Contact data, executives and services provided by companies the US and Canadian television, radio and cable industries.

Online access to Value Line's flagship Investment Survey - 3,500 companies analyzed - reports, analyst commentary, and Timeliness/Safety ranking.

Full-text and full-image of every Wall Street Journal article from 1984 to today.

Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.

Monthly trade statistics for 35 countries - the US, Canada, the 28 EU Countries, China, Japan, Taiwan, Chile and Colombia. Annual data is available for 130 additional countries.

World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.