Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

ArtHist 190A: Venice: Art, History, Environment

Reference sources

All reference sources are located on the Main level, Du Bois Library

Historical sources:

Raphael painting

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia DG443 .M43 2004

A Concise encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance DG445 .C66 1981

Italy:a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present DG461 .S27 2004

The New Century Italian Renaissance encyclopedia DG537.8.A1 N48

Dictionary of the Middle Ages D114 .D5 1982 +

Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world D209 .E97 2004 +

The Oxford dictionary of the Renaissance CB361 .C27 2003

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation CB359 .B47 2004

The late medieval age of crisis and renewal, 1300-1500 : a biographical dictionary CB353 .L38 2001

Dictionary of medieval civilization CB351 .D24 1984

Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students (Online)

 

Ecclesiastical sources:

Papal seal

New Catholic encyclopedia BX841 .N44 2003 +

The papacy : an encyclopedia BX955.3 .D5313 2002 +

The Oxford dictionary of saints BR1710 .F34 1987

The encyclopedia of Christianity BR95 .E8913 1999

The Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church BR95 .O8 1997

 

Classical sources:

Greek spear-bearer

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world DE5 .N4813 2002

The Oxford companion to classical civilization DE5 .O92 1998

Dictionary of Greek and Roman biography and mythology DE5 .S7 1867

 

General resources

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.


Oxford Art Online Limited to 5 users at a time!
The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Incorporates the Grove Encyclopedia of Art.