Libraries Ask Us

Modern European Studies

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search to find (e)books, articles, films, and more. It contains most but not all of the resources available to you through the UMass Amherst Libraries and the other Five College libraries
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

USEFUL TOOLS FOR RESEARCH AND WRITING

Modern European Studies Minor
Information on the minor and courses available at UMass for Modern European Studies.
UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
OWL at Purdue: MLA Citation Resource
This guide will help you properly cite sources in your scholarly papers.

LIBRARY DATABASES

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities journal literature from 1975 to present. Searches by author, topic, cited reference and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Columbia International Affairs Online: CIAO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text working and position papers, books, and journals - from international affairs research institutes, 1991-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The 125,000 earliest books published in English, as listed in Short Title Catalogs of Pollard & Redgrave (Ref Z 2002 P77) and Wing (Ref Z 2002 U587), 1475-1700.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Every significant book or pamphlet printed in the UK, and English-language titles printed in America, between 1701 and 1800.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals, 1951-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Kanopy Films
Streaming video of films depicting Europe and the Baltic states.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The classic general encyclopedia, constantly updated. A good starting point for all kinds of research.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Economic History Encyclopedia
An online encyclopedia which focuses on economic events in world history.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Google Art
A collection of images and archival material from museums across the world.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia essays, with bibliographies, from experts on all aspects of the social sciences. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Fordham University's comprehensive guide to history.

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies and substantial excerpts from critical responses over time, on the works of a huge number of authors from classical time to the present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES

Arts and Humanities Archives in the United Kingdom
University of Manchester has assembled archival contributions from over 200 institutions in the UK.
CIA The World Factbook: European Union
Overview of the European Union, including facts on the EU's organization, economy, military and other issues.
EuroDocs
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition there are video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
Europa: Gateway to the European Union
Official website of the European Union.
European History Primary Sources
An easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.
Europeana: Think Culture
Europeana is a repository of historical images, texts, sounds and videos from some of Europe's leading museums, libraries and archives.
Spartacus Educational
General site for the whole of Modern European History arranged by topics.
Voice of the Shuttle: History: Europe
A list of internet resources organized by subject.
World Wide Virtual Library: History
An extensive collection of links to various educational websites across the internet.

Revision History

Revised by Michelle Gaeta (2013)

Revised by Colleen Lynch (2015)