Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries
Search this Guide
World-renowned linguist and language historian David Crystal regularly maintains the site, which is full of interesting posts, links, and thought pertaining to the field of linguistics.
Society for Linguistic Anthropology Blog
A user-friendly blog accompanying the Society for Linguistic Anthropology website.
The Linguist List
A resource for linguists to find information, share knowledge, and communicate with one another about the field.
The Linguist List - Blog Sources
A list of over 50 linguistic blogs provided by Linguist List: International Linguistics Community Online.
iTunes U: Linguistics Lectures
Discusses a number of topics in linguistics with some participation by internationally known scholars. Must download the app from Apple.
How Language Transformed Humanity
Words About Words
A series of talks thematically centered around "Words About Words".
What We Learned From 5 Million Books
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
Cascadilla Proceedings Project
Proceedings of linguistics conferences and workshops freely available on the web.
Directory of Open Access Journals in Linguistics
Numerous open-access journals in the linguistics field.
eLanguage: Digital Publishing in Linguistics
The digital publishing platform of the Linguistic Society of America (LSA). eLanguage serves as a hosting service and aggregator for a range of Open Access publications in linguistics.
An online encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages
International Dialects of English Archive
Recorded samples of English dialects from the US and around the world.
International Phonetic Association (IPA)
The Association that maintains the International Phonetic Alphabet. Includes the alphabet, a handbook and a link to the IPA journal.
Article archive and community space for Generative Linguistics.
Dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis.
Linguistic Society of America
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-Index
A list of more linguistic web resources.
Online Phonetics Resources
A list of web sites that could be appropriate for use in an introductory phonetics course compiled by Jennifer Smith at UNC Chapel Hill; most of these sites include audio, images, or interactive material.
Rutgers Optimality Archive
Distribution point for research in Optimality Theory.
Online collection of papers of interest to natural language semanticists.
UCLA Language Materials Project
Teaching resources for less commonly taught languages
World Atlas of Language Structures Online
Large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars).
Reference Sources >>
Jul 22, 2020 7:08 PM
Login to LibApps
University of Massachusetts Amherst