Libraries Ask Us

Writing in Engineering

Related Guide

American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) - Engineering Libraries Division Guide to:

Open Textbooks for Engineering

Librarian

Anne Graham

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Room A273 Lederle Graduate Research Center Lowrise
740 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-93006

413-545-1743

Subjects: Astronomy, Chemical Engineering, Citation Managers, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Earth Systems, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, Physics, Polymer Science

Find Books

Use the Discovery search box to find books owned by the Five Colleges at https://www.library.umass.edu/

e-books that the UMass Amherst Libraries purchase are available in the Five College catalog -- find books by title, author or keyword. You can also browse collections of e-books directly by going to the eBook packages listed below.

O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Must login in with UMass NetID and Password
20,000 business, technology and digital media e-books from the best business/technology publishers - O'Reilly, Sams, John Wiley, Sybex, Que, Career Press, Jossey-Bass, McGraw-Hill, AMACON, Oracle Press, Microsoft and many more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Encyclopedias offer background information

Use encyclopedias to find explanations of topics that interest you.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Second edition of this comprehensive Elsevier reference work.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 450 articles, each authored by an expert in the field and peer reviewed, covering the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering.
Includes topics covering Artificial Intelligence; Vision; Software systems, data and knowledge engineering; Computer architectures, networks, and interconnects; VLSI Technology; Computer Systems; Performance evaluation and real-time computing; Theory and Algorithms; and Applications.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference encyclopedia - searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive encyclopedia with over 450 scholarly articles, divided into three broad subjects: introductory articles, physics subjects, and related mathematics subjects. Each article includes a thorough bibliography.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in the science and technology of industrial chemistry; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.