Physics
Find Technical Reports
- TRAIL This link opens in a new windowU.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new windowReplaces DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations. Citations, and some full text, of US DOE research and development reports.1943-present.
- NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new windowProvides access to aerospace related full-text online documents, citations, images, and videos from 1915 to present. Part of NASA's Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program, which seeks to collect, organize, provide access, and preserve the results of NASA's research and development initiatives.
- DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)Technical Reports Database
Searchable database of public/unclassified reports published since 1974. Some full text. - National Technical Reports LibraryA database of publications and technical reports from work sponsored by the United States.
Theses & Dissertations
- ScholarWorks@UMass Amherst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository for the research and scholarly output of members of the UMass Amherst community. - Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Find Articles
Scholarly research articles are where researchers are communicating about their research. Look for academic, peer reviewed, scholarly research articles written for engineers in these databases.
- astro-phAstrophysics category of arXiv® a free distribution service and an open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- INSPIREHigh-energy physics information system. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, comparable to the Web of Science. Scopus allows for the discovery, tracking, and analysis of scholarship that includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, trade magazines, book series, books and book chapters, and patents.
Use Scopus to:
• Search for documents by topic, title, author, or institutional affiliation
• Perform citation searches and establish citation alerts
• Export citations to reference management systems
• View impact metrics for authors and journals
• Integrate Scopus content with ORCID profiles - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
- SciTech ConnectScience, technology, and engineering research information from the US Department of Energy.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
Subject-Specific Article Searches
The following databases and search engines specifically target physics subject areas, so if you would like to look more deeply into a topic, try the links below!
- International Organization of Physics (IOP) JournalsJournals from the International Organization of Physics.
- ScitationFrom the American Institute of Physics (AIP), Scitation covers the proceedings and journals from six key physics and engineering societies.
Find Books
Use the Discovery search box to find books owned by the Five Colleges at https://www.library.umass.edu/
e-books that the UMass Amherst Libraries purchase are available in the Five College catalog -- find books by title, author or keyword.
Print books in the libraries at UMass (and at many academic libraries in the United States and in several other countries) are organized by the standards set up by the Library of Congress in Washington, DC. This system helps libraries classify and organize the books on their shelves. It's not always intuitive, but there are guides to help you learn how to decipher the system.
Most of the materials in Physics are in the QC call number area. See below for specific topics.
QC 1-999 Physics
QC 1-75 General
QC 81-114 Weights & Measures
QC 170-197 Atomic Physics
QC 221-146 Acoustics, Sound
QC 251-338.5 Heat
QC 350-467 Optics, Light
QC 501-766 Electricity & Magnetism
QC 770-798 Nuclear & Particle Physics
QC 801-809 Geophysics
QC 811-849 Geomagnetism
QC 851-999 Meteorology, Climatology
