Theater
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
-
Concise Oxford Companion to the TheatreThis concise version of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Theatre covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting. UMass netid and password required
-
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowA large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
-
Oxford Companion to American TheatreProvides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Completely updated by theater professor Thomas Hischak, the volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. UMass netid and password required
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
-
Adelphi Theatre CalendarRecord of dramatic performances at a leading Victorian theatre, 1806-1900.
-
British Universities Film and Video CouncilPromotes moving images for teaching and research in higher and further education. Includes news and events, researcher's guide, television and radio index,
-
Federal Theatre Project Collection (Library of Congress)This online presentation includes items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, playbills, programs, and playscripts, Library of Congress
-
Internet Broadway DatabaseIBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information.
-
Find an Internship (Arts)Find an internship locally, regionally, and nationally.
-
ISPA International Society for the Performing ArtsISPA is a global network of more than 400 leaders in the performing arts with representation from more than 50 countries and all regions of the globe
-
John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing ArtsThe Kennedy Center is the nation's busiest performing arts center, hosting approximately 3,000 events each year for audiences numbering more than 2 million.
-
National Endowment for the ArtsThe National Endowment for the Arts is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation.
-
New York Public Library for the Performing ArtsThe New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, one of NYPL’s renowned research libraries, houses one of the world's most extensive research collections in the fields of theater, film, dance, music, and recorded sound, as well as a wide array of circulating and reference materials.
-
PBS Great PerformancesPBS and its member stations are America’s largest classroom, the nation’s largest stage for the arts and a trusted window to the world. In addition, PBS's educational media helps prepare children for success in school and opens up the world to them in an age-appropriate way.
