Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Beyond Google: Integrating library resources into your research strategy

A template for librarians and faculty.

Meets ACRL Information Literacy Standard

Standard Four The information literate student, individually or as a member of a group, uses information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose.

Special Collections

This assignment is based on the [insert lecture/topic and/or date here - may be based on lecture by archivist at Du Bois Library]

Goal: Search for an archival collection available in Special Collections and Archives on the 25th floor of the Du Bois Library

  • Go to the Library's homepage.
  • On the bottom left, click on Special Collections & University Archives
  • Click on COLLECTIONS
  • On the right hand side of the screen, see SELECT BY CATEGORY.
  • Using the dropdown menu, choose a category related to [insert topic here] social change (e.g. insert examples here).
  • Select a collection that you find particularly fascinating.

Post to the group:

  • What category did you select?
  • Briefly describe the type(s) of materials included in the collection you selected.
  • List at least one Subject (see bottom of the record) that relates to issues discussed in our course "insert course title here."
  • Ask a question based on the collection you selected as it relates  to [insert lecture/topic and/or date here] and themes discussed in our course [insert course here].