How to locate Rudman books easily in the Discovery System (search box on the Libraries homepage)
Each book in the collection has an author entry
- Masha Kabakow Rudman Issues in Children's Literature Collection.
-
- If you do a search putting that long name in the author field (including quotation marks at the beginning and end" you will get all of the books in the collection. As of September 2023 there are over 8600 with ~50 more on the way.
-
- Each book in the Rudman collection has the Rudman-created subject headings (codes). Each one starts with Rudman Collection and then the subject. If you find a book that has a subject heading that you want to see all the other books with the same subject, you can click on that subject and you will get all of them. Like this example: Rudman Collection -- Heritage, North America -- African American
-
-
The one exception to all of the above is in the case of the three special authors featured in the Collection (Joseph Bruchac, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jane Yolen). The works of these three are located at the end of the Collection and can be readily identified by the LAVENDER call number label. The specialized cataloging schedule described above is not used for these authors; rather they are organized by surname and the first word(s) of the work's title (e.g., <Bruchac When the> for Joseph Bruchac's When the Chenoo Howls).
While the online catalog can be a powerful tool in discovering the breadth and depth of the Rudman Collection, ultimately it works best when combined with focused browsing of the Collection in person.
KEEP ANY OF THESE DIRECTIONS?
All of the books in both parts of the collection can be found in the Library's online catalog under the work's author, title, series, subject, and call number, and by using the KEYWORD SEARCH in the Five College Catalog under the entry "Masha Kabakow Rudman Issues in Children's Literature Collection" [with quotation marks] or simply click on the link to the Rudman Collection below.
If you want to find a book on one of the subcategory headings in the Hierarchical Codes list, simply enter a CALL NUMBER search for it as follows: OPP slv (displays books from the Slavery subcategory of Oppression & Resistance).
