Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Patents and Trademarks

Discipline Specific Databases

DOE Patent Database  - U.S. Department of Energy's central collection of patent information from 1940's to present.

DNA Patent Database - Collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Patents from 1971 to the present and patent applications from 2001 to the present.


UMass Amherst Databases:

Available to UMass students, facutly, and staff on or off campus.  Available to community patrons on site only through access on a public computer.

Derwent Innovations Index (Part of the Web of Science Databases) - Patents in chemical, electrical, electronic and mechanical engineering -1963 to present. Coverage of 14 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities.

Reaxys - Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data.  Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data.

SciFinder Web - Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present.  Requires creating an account using a UMass Amherst email address.


Patent Coverage in Sci-Tech Databases compiled by PTRC Librarian Jan Comfort at Clemson University

PubWEST and PubEast Databases

Since the University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries is a designated Patent & Trademark Resource Center it provides access to the PubEAST and PubWEST databases.

The designated PubEAST / PubWEST computer is located in the University of Massachusetts Amherst Science & Engineering Library.

This database requires a secure login procedure and therefore you will need to make an appointment ahead of time to learn the login protocol. 

Information about PubWest and PubEast.

Feature

USPTO.gov PubWEST
Covers 1790 to current week Yes Yes
Searches grants database and applications Individually Can search both together
Can access images of patents Need Tiff viewer Ready to go
Allows fast movement through search results No Yes
Choice of formats for viewing search results No Yes
Can search at home Yes No - must be at a PTRC
Can print all pages with one click No - one page at a time Yes
Keyword access to patents from 1920-1975 No Yes - in OCR database
Access to EPO and Japanese abstracts No Yes
Has images of foreign patents No Yes - in Foreign Patents Retrieval database