A guide to UMass Library resources, web sites, and information about ecovillages around the world, with space dedicated to Living Routes, a study abroad program.
Pioneer Valley Resources
- Center for Ecological TechnologyDemonstrates and promotes practical, affordable solutions to the environmental challenges encountered in our daily activities.
- Common Good FinanceBased in Ashfield, MA, a democratic, community-based system that supports and empowers ordinary people to put an end to war, poverty, hunger, unemployment and global warming, before it is too late. This is not just another bank with a social mission. This is a social mission with a bank!
- Commonwealth Center for ChangeFacilitates a network of mutual support and collaboration that sustains and strengthens a dynamic creative community -- "C3 is a reflection of you, it is a collection of opportunities to meet, see, support, share resources, learn from and contribute to the direction of your community."
- Free Cycle AmherstFree exchange of goods, right in your neighborhood! Your trash is another person's treasure. Keep it out of the landfill!
- Going Green: The Valley Guide to an Eco-friendly LifestyleGreenfield Recorder publication
- Grease Car Vegetable Fuel SystemsProducts and services for vegetable fuel system vehicles. Based in Holyoke MA.
- Green Living JournalHeadquartered in Brattelboro, VT but covers much of the Pioneer Valley.
- Greening the Valley: Sustainable ArchitectureLocal database
- Highlands Community InitiativeA group of neighbors and volunteers working to preserve and enhance the quality of life and rural character of communities in western Massachusetts.
- KatywilEcovillage in Colrain, MA.
- Local GreenieFree local guide to socially responsible businesses, including green products and services, recycling, organic and fair trade foods, solar energy, hybrid cars, biodegradable products, and cooperative business practices.
- Northeast Sustainable Energy AssociationThe nation's leading regional membership organization promoting sustainable energy through a growing network of professionals and sustainable energy advocates committed to responsible energy.
- Permaculture Institute of the NortheastRegional permaculture and sustainability organization in the northeast United States
- Pioneer Valley Local FirstWorks with local, independent businesses to help them do more local purchasing.
- Pioneer Valley Planning CommissionRegional planning body for the Pioneer Valley region, which encompasses 43 cities and towns in the Hampden and Hampshire county areas. Increases communication, cooperation, and coordination among government agencies as well as private and civic sectors.
- Pioneer Valley Sustainability NetworkA broad-based network that builds mutually beneficial partnerships to promote a sustainable, just, regenerative future for our region. We bring our vision into being through collaborative support and action on specific projects in service to our community
- PV SquaredWorker-owned business providing turnkey renewable energy system installations at homes, businesses, municipalities and institutions.
- Ride BuzzInnovative ridesharing program
in the Pioneer Valley -- and beyond!
- Sea Change RadioWeekly radio show covering the shifts to social, environmental, and economic sustainability. Nationally syndicated and podcast globally.
- Seeds of SolidarityA nonprofit organization that provides people of all ages with the inspiration and practical tools to use renewable energy and grow food in their communities. Based at Seeds of Solidarity Farm which runs on alternative energy.
- Sirius CommunityIntentional community in Shutesbury, MA which focuses on ecology and spirituality.
- Sustainability Library in Cummington, MALocated at the Creamery, open to the public 8am to 6pm every day. Read attached article
- The Vegan Bus - A Vehicle of TransformationA group of Northampton-based activists, artists and speakers traveling on a full sized school bus running on waste vegetable oil. They use art, performance, and media to increase public awareness about the connections between dietary choice, personal health, cultural ethics, and globally sustainable ecology.
- WGBY Eco-ExchangePresent viewers with news and information related to living a more sustainable lifestyle. Hear ideas and opinions from local experts and educators all working in the energy field.
- Communal Studies AssociationDedicated to the understanding and study of intentional, contemporary, historic and "utopian" communities in the U.S.
- Permaculture ActivistPremier publication offering information that enables people everywhere to provide for their own & their communities' needs for food, energy, shelter, & a decent life without exploitation or pollution & from the smallest practical area of land.
- Permaculture Guilds around the U.S.Directory
- Permaculture Research Institute of the U.S.Information on Courses/Workshops, Demonstration Sites, Education Centers, Soil Erosion & Contamination, Surveying, Swales, Terraces, Water, Water Contamination, Water Harvesting
- PlanetFriendlyU.S. and Canada directory
- 2011 International Permaculture ConferenceTo be held in Jordan in September 2011
- Fellowship for Intentional CommunityProvide publications, referrals, support services, and sharing opportunities for a wide range of intentional communities, cohousing groups, ecovillages, community networks, support organizations, and people seeking a home in community
- Institute for Sustainable CommunitiesMission: to help communities around the world address environmental, economic, and social challenges to build a better future shaped and shared by all.
- International Communal Studies AssociationThe International Communal Studies Association is a multidisciplinary organization providing a common framework for scholarly exchange regarding communes, intentional communities, collective settlements and kibbutz throughout the world. The ICSA functions as a clearinghouse for research projects, encourages comparative studies, and maintains a list of communal organizations and individuals active in communal and kibbutz research.
- International Permaculture NetworkDevelops projects in all climactic and geographic zones
- Permaculture ForumsDiscussions with searchable archives
- Permaculture MagazinePublished in the UK, this publication keeps you in touch with the cutting edge of the sustainability movement and every issue brings you the best ideas, advice and inspiration from people who are actually creating a better world.
Earn Credits While Studying in an Ecovillage
Earn college credit from the University of Massachusetts on a Living Routes semester, Summer or January-term study abroad program.
Current programs include:
Crystal Waters (Australia)
Monteverde Institute (Costa Rica)
Ecocentro IPEC (Brazil)
Kibbutz Lotan (Israel)
Sadhana Forest (India)
Sirius Community (USA)
- Last Updated: Apr 7, 2022 11:49 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/ecovillages
- Print Page