History 591P: History Writing and Political Engagement
guide for students in Sigrid Schmalzer's writing-intensive class on history writing and political engagement.
Magazines
- Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1890-present.
- Poole's index to periodical literature [1802-1907] byCall Number: UMass Du Bois Library AI3 .P7 1958Publication Date: 1958We have the print only.
Music
- Naxos Sheet Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sheet music for 14,000 scores. - American Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
68,000 tracks of historical recordings of jazz, blues, gospel and other genres, 1890's-1970's.
Newspapers
- Electronic Newspaper Collections @ UMassSee the full list of electronic versions of newspapers and their coverage.
- Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Videos
- American MemoryAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
- Films on Demand3,800 educational videos and historical newsreels.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large collection of videos spanning multiple disciplines, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more - Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to documentary and social issues films and videos. Docuseek2 is a collection of over 800 films and documentaries from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye and Icarus Films.
