Green Building & Infrastructure
Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Use the following databases to retrieve articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. (These resources are available on campus, or off campus to UMass Amherst affiliates with an OIT account; enter your OIT login and password when prompted.)
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present. - BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present. - Environmental Resource Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of environmental resource organizations, events and statistics.
Section I - Organizations: Associations, conferences and trade shows, foundations and charities, government agencies, national parks and wildlife refuges, publications, research centers and educational programs.
Section II - Statistics: Children’s Environmental Index, municipal finances, toxic chemicals, recycling, climate, air quality, water quality. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current. - Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources. - Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory, 1982-present.
- Science.gov This link opens in a new windowA site that organizes access to agriculture, computer, health, energy and other scientific information from U.S. government agencies. Current.
Selected Publications for Green Building
Database Highlight: BuildingGreen Suite
UMass subscribes to BuildingGreen Suite, which offers authoritative information on sustainable building:
- All content from Environmental Building News, the premier journal on sustainable building practices and products, published since 1992:
- The complete directory of green building products listed in GreenSpec®; the "Consumer Reports" of environmentally preferable products and
- Case studies of high performance buildings with energy data and project details.
New content is added to the website on a regular basis:
- Product listings – updated daily
- Articles and case studies – added monthly
Professors send their students to BuildingGreen.com knowing the content is independent of outside interests. Professors may also use the articles on sustainable design strategies and green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings on BuildingGreen.com as a primary text and as a reference source. In using BuildingGreen Suite, students become familiar with a tool currently used in the field by designers, architects, builders, facility managers, and other building industry professionals.
Where is the article located?
When searching for articles, look for the UMLinks button. It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the UMass Libraries. Or, it will search the Library Catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.
