Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Arch-Des 670

Scholarly article databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
  • JSTOR
    Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
  • Readers' Guide Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1983-present.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines, 1890-1982.
  • Historical New York Times
    The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

Finding arts articles

 

To find articles in art and visual culture, try the following databases:

  • Art Abstracts    
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.
  • Art Index Retrospective    
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art    
    Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art    
    The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.
"Green" databases: