Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Comparative Literature 791N: Native American Indians & Contemporary Graphic Narrative Arts

What is a "general" article?

 

Magazines

A "general" article differs from a scholarly one in a number of ways. It could be written by a journalist, rather than a scholar, and published in a newspaper or magazine. Most journalism articles are not subjected to "peer review". (See the PowerPoint  for a detailed explanation.)

Articles from trade and professional journals, general-circulation magazines, newspapers, or, today, from blogs or other web sources, are not considered scholarly sources.

This does not mean you can't use them in your essays; it merely means that you, as a researcher, have to distinguish between the scholarly and the non-scholarly article.

 

Newspapers & magazines

Newspaper

There is a link from the Research Databases page to a separate page just for newspapers.

Some of the best sources are

Ethnic NewsWatch & ENW: A History
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.

Alt-PressWatch
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1992-present.

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

Wall Street Journal

 

Searchable full-text of the financial paper of record in two databases. Current – 1985 to present. Archive from 1889-1990.

Wall Street Journal Archive
Searchable full text of the backfile of the financial paper of record, 1889-1990.

Readers' Guide Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1983-present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines, 1890-1982.