Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Comparative Literature 791N: Native American Indians & Contemporary Graphic Narrative Arts

Reference resources

Electronic reference

Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, etc. They are intended to provide quick, reliable information, summaries of complex matters, and, very importantly, bibliographies--suggestions for futher reading.Some are in print; others online.

These reference materials are customarily written by experts in their fields, so they are more trustworthy than Wikipedia--all have gone through a process of editorial review. For an illustrated explanation, see the home page presentation, "What is a referred or scholarly article?"

Reference resources

Print & online sources:

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes     Ref. E76.2.W35 1999

Encyclopedia of North American Indians    Ref E76.2.E53 1997

Encyclopedia of North American Indians (online)

Handbook of North American Indians    Ref E77.H36. Library has volumes 2-15 & 17.

Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples    Ref E77.P89 1998

Bibliography of Native North Americans (Online)
Covers books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.

The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood     Ref PN1995.9.M56M85 2003

Multicultural Films: A Reference Guide    Ref PN1995.9.M56W45 2005

Within Our Gates: Ethnicity in American Feature Films, 1911-1960   Ref  PN1995.9.M56W58 1997