American Foreign Policy (Honors)

A Course Guide for Political Science 255H

A Word about Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a popular source of information on the web and for good reason—it’s extensive and often extremely current. However, because anyone can edit Wikipedia pages, they are not always reliable and most instructors will not want you to use them as references in your assignments.

Online Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The classic general encyclopedia, constantly updated. A good starting point for all kinds of research.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Print Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Diplomatic History
UM E 183.7 F5
Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs
UM E 183.7 F58
International Relations: A Political Dictionary
UM/REF JX 1226 P55
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
UM/REF E 183.7 E53

Please note: The "REF" before the call number indicates an item in the Reference Collection.