Japanese Studies (in Japanese)
This is a general purpose set of links that I use almost daily to do research using Japanese language resources
Indexes to Articles
- Zassaku Plus ざっさくプラス This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to Japanese periodical articles 1868 to present. Please note that these are citations only and you will need to request the articles through interlibrary loan if the library does not have the journals in its collection.
- CiNii ResearchIncludes the contents of Zasshi Kiji Sakuin, plus English language abstracts and some full-text of university bulletins. If you only want to see the full-text, click on the button: Has Link to full-text
- J-Stage (Japan Science and Technology Aggregator)90% of the articles are open access, the others would need to be requested by ILL. Abstracts also available in both English and Japanese.
- 国文学論文目録データベースCitations only to articles on Japanese literature, but coverage goes back further than Zasshi kiji sakuin.
- Kawakita Memorial Film Institute Article SearchThis database indexes articles appearing in Japanese film studies journals. There is a pull-down menu for the journal titles. **Includes lots of pre1945 info.
Locating Open Access Resources
- KAKEN Database of Grants in Aid of Scientific ResearchThis is a database where you can find out who is being funded for what kind of research. There are usually research reports and lists of presentations included with the description.
- JAIRO (Japan's Institutional Repositories Online)This is a very handy search engine to locate texts, data, etc, in the institutional repositories of Japanese universities and institutes.
