Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Plant, Soil and Insect Sciences

Metasites

Websites with collections of links

ISPI - International Society for Pest Information
Primarily, they create the Pest Directory on CD, soon to be available at UMass Amherst Library. Also collect lists of addresses, journals, meetings, organisms, and links to other sources of info.

Northern IPM Center -
List of publications

The Center fosters collaboration among people and groups with interests and expertise in integrated pest management.

Online Reference Sources

AGROVOC Thesaurus
Terminology for the fields of agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food, and related fields (e.g., environment)
in 17 languages (6 more in development).

Britannica Online
The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and New York Times for current news.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.

Credo Reference
Collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries
, both current and historical, on a broad range of subject areas.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the illustrated zoology encyclopedia. Includes insects and microflora. Current.

Print Reference Sources

Some reference books in paper format in the libraries - links are to the Library catalog records

A Dictionary of Biology
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .D54 2004
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Collins Web-linked dictionary of biology
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .H34 2006
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. Contains an appendix with links to biology history, careers, etc.

Encyclopedia of life sciences
Integrated Sciences and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .E525 2002
Twenty-volume set from the Nature Publishing Group.