Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Judaica and Near Eastern Studies

Under construction

Reference materials on the Shoah

The Holocaust Chronicle      REF D804.25.H66 2001

The Holocaust Encyclopedia    REF D804.25.H654 2000

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945      REF D805.E195 2009 2v.

Encyclopedia of the Ghettos.      REF D805.A2Y33 2009  2v.

Encyclopaedia Judaica  
Second edition (2007) of standard reference work on the Jewish religion and people.
In print at DS102.8.E496 2007  22v.

History in Dispute, Vol. 11 The Holocaust, 1933-1945, 2003

The first four resources are shelved in the Reference area, Learning Commons level.

                

Online resources on the Holocaust

Yad Vashem
"Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. [Yad Vashem was] ...established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust..."

USC Shoah Foundation Institute
"The USC Shoah Foundation Institute is a non-profit dedicated to overcoming prejudice, intolerance and bigotry..."

The Nizkor Project
"Dedicated to 12 million Holocaust victims who suffered and died at the hands of Adolf Hitler and his Nazi regime."

Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Day
Links to Shoah online resources

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Official page of the U.S. Museum.

Holocaust Links (Holocaust History Site)
Annotated links to many Shoah sites.

H-Holocaust Link (H-Net)
Part of the Humanities & Social Sciences Online network. Provides links, book reviews and other scholarly materials.

The Holocaust (About.com)
Links for different categories, including camps, ghettoes, resistance, victims, memorials, etc.

The Holocaust History Project
Free archive of documents, photographs, recrodings, essays, etc.

The Felix Posen Bibliographic Project
Online searchable bibliography on anti-Semitism.

A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
Resources geared for instructors.

Holocaust Glossary
Part of a larger site, "A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust."

Holocaust Timeline
Links and a Shoah timeline.

Literature of the Holocaust
UPenn faculty-maintained website of links to Holocaust literature.

Many of the above links were obtained from John Jaeger's "Holocaust Resoirces on the Web," C&RL News, February 2010, pp.80-82, 87.