Judaica and Near Eastern Studies
E-Reference sources
The World Fact Book
Geography,
people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military,
transnational issues. Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency.
Europa World Yearbook
Excellent source on individual nations, with statistics, political summaries, and economic information.
EIU Country Reports
Economist Intelligence Unit economic and political analysis and statistics, worldwide.
PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Countries and their cultures
Information on food, rituals, pastimes, arts, etc. of 200 nations.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Print Reference sources
All printed reference sources are located on the Main level, Du Bois Library
Encyclopaedia of Islam. Also in print: REF DS37.E56 12v.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. REF BP40.E525 2004 2v.
Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion REF BP40.E526 2008
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān. 5v. REF BP133.E53 2001
The Muslim Almanac: A Reference Work on the History, Faith, Culture, and Peoples of Islam. REF BP40.M83 1996+
The Qur'an: an encyclopedia. REF BP133.Q97 2006
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. REF DS35.53.O96 2009 6v.
Medieval Islamic Civilization. REF DS36.85M434 2006 2v.
Encyclopedia Judaica. Also in print: REF DS102.8.E496 2007 22v.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia REF DS.124.M386 2003+
The Jewish Year Book (Latest edition in REF) DS153.E5A3 5768-5769 2010 5770-5771
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust REF DS135.E8E45 2001 3v.
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe REF DS135.E8Y578 2008 2v.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust. REF DS135.E8E45 2001 3v.
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettoes During the Holocaust REF D805.A2Y33 2009 2v.
The United States Holocaust Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettoes, 1933-1945. REF D805.A2E195 2009 2v.
The Holocaust Chronicle. REF D804.24.H654 2000
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel REF DS102.8.L38 2004
Historical Dictionary of Palestine REF DS102.8.N397 1997
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians REF DS113.6.E53 2005
Historical Dictionary of Israel REF DS126.5.R38 1992
New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel REF DS149.N56 1994 2v.
Historical Dictionary of Jordan REF DS154.G83 1991
Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia REF DS221.P48 2003
Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States REF DS247.A15P43 1997
Historical Dictionary of Iran REF DS270.L67 1995
