LibGuides: Comparative Literature: The Graphic Novel: Finding arts articles

Using the databases

It's always best to tailor your searches to approrpiate databases. The Research Database page is very helpful--if you want to involve psychology in any way, you would click on that link; there are pages for sociology, anthropology, health, etc.

Finding articles

To find articles in art and visual culture, try the following databases:

Art and Architecture Source
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design with international coverage.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Art Index Retrospective
Index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

For full terms of use, please see the Electronic Resources Usage Policy (https://www.library.umass.edu/about-the-libraries/policies/electronic-resources-usage-policy/).
Bibliography of the History of Art
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Content is freely available for use by all.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Index to journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

For full terms of use, please see the Electronic Resources Usage Policy (https://www.library.umass.edu/about-the-libraries/policies/electronic-resources-usage-policy/).