Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Environmental Science

A guide to resources at UMass and beyond.

Looking at popular magazines to scaffold information

When starting a research project, it is sometimes helpful to search popular magazines to scaffold information and learn the level of information communicated to a public audience.

The database Academic Search Premier is the ONLY database that will let you search specifically for magazine and trade publications.

Use Research Databases to Find Articles

Off-campus access requires campus NetID and password.

Best Bet Databases - Likely the most useful databases

However, NOTE: your topic determines the best database!

Environment Index 
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950’s- present.

GreenFILE 
Scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy, 1973-current.

GREENR
Portal for sustainability and agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development. Material from journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and primary sources, plus news, video, podcasts, case studies, web sites and images.

Also useful

Agricola
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Articles from serial publications, books, reports, and conference proceedings published in the field of aquatic science, 1965-present. Also knows as ASFA.

CAB Abstracts
Source for journal articles and other material on land use: agriculture, forestry, biotechnology, agricultural economics, tourism, nutrition, etc., 1910-present.

Engineering Village
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.

GeoRef
Scholarly articles, books, dissertations, maps, and reports relating to geological sciences, 1785-present.

Oceanic Abstracts
Citations and abstracts pertaining to worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish-water environment, 1981-present.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Public and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1915-.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database for medical journal articles. This version includes links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present.

SciFinder 
Most comprehensive source for chemistry information, plus Medline.
NOTE: Each researcher creates an accounts using a UMass email address. Link goes to UMA Library page on how to access SciFinder.

Web of Science
Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.