Mycology (STOCKSCH 525)

Top Tips

• Remember that filters are sticky. If you're getting odd results or less than you expect, start a new search to clear out all filters. Use Advanced Search as your starting place.
• If your research topic has more than one concept, add the concepts on separate lines. Use the different fields to try searches in specific fields, such as Subject, Abstract or Title.

• Remember that there often isn't one search that will get you everything you might need. It's common to do multiple searches trying combinations of different fields, subject headings, and/or keywords.

Finding a Specific Item

1. Start an Advanced Search using New Search from the left of the screen.
2. Put the title of the item in the first search line and change All Fields to Title - TI.
3. Put the author 's last name of the item in the second search line and change All Fields to Author - AU.
4. Click Search.
5. If there are multiple results, use the filter Source Type below the search field at the top to limit it to a type, such as Books.

Picking a Collection When Starting a New Search or Using All Filters

Discovery Search includes the physical items from the UMass Libraries as well as Amherst, Hampshre, Mount Holyoke, and Smith. It also includes items from our Special Collections, off-site repositories and some, but not all of our databases.

The following selections contain these collections of items.

• Full Text (Digital): Search only for eResources UMass has access to.
  • This will remove any search results that only contain an article's abstract or bibliographic information.
  • You may miss results that are relevant and could be accessed for free via interlibrary loan.
• Scholarly Peer Reviewed Articles: Search for articles from publications that the system has flagged as peer-reviewed.
  • Always confirm independently that the system has correctly labeled an article!
• Limit to Five Colleges Libraries catalog only: Search only for materials the Five Colleges own, including books, DVDs, music scores, and some eBooks.
  • Note: UMass users can only access other institutions' eBooks when on the corresponding campus.
• Limit to Five College Catalog/UMass electronic subscriptions: Same as Limit to Five Colleges Libraries catalog only above, plus eJournal articles, streaming videos, and other eResources UMass subscribes to. This includes more eBooks than the previous limiter.
• Limit to Institutional Repository collection(s): Search only in Five Colleges Archives and Special Collections, including Credo/SCUA (UMass), Smith Archives, and 3C Compass (Smith, Mount Holyoke, and Hampshire). Some materials are digitized.

If you need to limit to a specific location, use the Library Location facet in All Filters.

My Dashboard (on the left)

• Projects: Create folders where you can save items.
• Saved: See items you have saved but have not added to a folder in Projects, and searches you have saved.
• Recent Activity:  See, reuse and/or save recent searches.
• Requests & Loans: Shows requests you have placed and what you have checked out.
• Alerts: Set up journal and/or search alerts to see new content as it becomes available.

Research Tools (on the left)

• New Search: Starts a new advanced search.
• eJournals: Search for publications by title.
• WorldCat & Google Scholar: Transfer your search to either platform. Make sure to click on the box name Send Search To and not the names of the resources below that box. Clicking on the names starts a blank search in either resource.

Links (on the left)

• Questions? Ask Us! Search our FAQs, submit a question or start a chat.
• A-Z Databases: Goes to our list of over 500 databases.
• Course Reserves: Search course reserves.
• Library home page: Return to the Libraries' home page.