Libraries Ask Us

Monkeypox Resources

Research articles from PubMed

Publisher Collections

The following publishers have made content on Monkeypox openly available in response to the 2022 outbreak:

SpringerNature
Includes research, news, and commentary from 9 participating journals
BioMed Central (SpringerNature)
Includes research and commentary from participating BMC journals
Elsevier Healthcare Hub
Includes links to clinical information, drug profiles, and patient education
Wolters Kluwer
Includes clinical resources for healthcare professionals from UpToDate, select Lippincott journals, and NursingCenter
BMJ Best Practice Page
Includes important updates, theory, diagnosis, management, follow up and additional resources.

UMass Amherst Databases

Search the following databases for current research on Monkeypox:

American Medical Association Journals (JAMA) This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Medical Association (AMA).
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Complete includes indexing back to 1937 of over 5,000 journals as well as full-text of over 1,300 journals, 27 books, 134 evidence-based care sheets, 360 research instruments records, 169 quick lessons and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

You can access Google Scholar with UMLinks buttons from outside the UMass Amherst IP range ("off campus") by two methods:

1. Access Google Scholar through the Library web site by using this link.
2. Go to generic Google Scholar.
a. Click on "Settings."
b. Click on Library links.
c. Type in "University of Massachusetts" or "UMass Amherst" (or a few other variations).
d. Check "University of Massachusetts Amherst - UMass Check for Full Text" and Save.
e. You will be asked to authenticate somewhere along the way to full text.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides full-text medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and books in the sciences and the social sciences provided by Elsevier. Dates of coverage vary.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Current, evidence-based, physician-authored healthcare guidelines for point-of-care decisions.
Available only to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with a UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. Walk-in access is not available for this resource.
How to Access UpToDate
Before you can use it, you must first Register on the UpToDate homepage. I made a video and created step-by-step written instructions on the whole process.
After you create an account with UpToDate, you can download the mobile app (available for iOS and Android).
Log in with the UpToDate username and password you created, and you are ready to go!
You will get an email every 90 days prompting you to verify your account to renew your mobile access. This means that you need to log back into the web version of UpToDate (linked above) to reset the timer.
How to get UpToDate Mobile Access (PDF)
Step by step instructions for members of the UMass Amherst community to register for an UpToDate Account that gives access to the mobile app. It also includes a few troubleshooting tips.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Monkeypox Resources

MESH

Science RSS Feed

Research articles from PubMed

Publisher Collections

UMass Amherst Databases