Open Educational Resources

This library is supported by the Open Education Network and contains 1,204 open textbooks.

Seven books on History & Literature published by Cornell University Press, now offered as Open Access books. Topics include the history of Russia, Poland and Germany as well as cultural criticism.

An effort by the Digital Public Library of America to increase access to eBooks. Contains both open and "closed" ebooks.

The Global Text Project is an open educational resources that creates and translates open content textbooks and makes them freely available online. Global Text Project is a non-profit organisation which aims to eliminate the prohibitive cost of textbooks and make education accessible to everyone, regardless of income, location, or any other factor. The organisation focuses on reaching people of university-going age in the developing world. Founded in 2006, the Global Text Projects has made over 100 textbooks available for free online, many of which have also been translated into a variety of other languages.

A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. InTech has published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.

A collection of over 6,000 Open Access DRM-free ebooks from a variety of academic publishers with coverage in many disciplines including Business, Anthropology, Education, Environmental Science, Health Sciences, History, Law, Political Science, Religion, Psychology, Technology and more!

The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books.

A collection of course materials developed by Lumen Learning, Lumen Learning was co-founded by open education visionary Dr. David Wiley and education technology strategist Kim Thanos, Lumen is dedicated to facilitating broad, successful adoption of OER.

The Multimedia Educational Resource for Online Teaching (MERLOT), developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning offers access to thousands of open educational materials. The search function even allows you to enter an ISBN number of a current textbook to find a comparable open textbook.

A single search engine of dozens of open access and open educational databases all in one. A Google for OER!

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool developed by SUNY Geneseo, in consultation with Alexis Clifton, SUNY OER Services Executive Director, that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 73 different sources and contains 171,998 records.

Search across several repositories, including YouTube, Google, SoundCloud, and more, for still images, music, and videos.

A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.

Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.

A collection of open archival images, postcards, archaeological materials, and documents from several archival collections hosted by JSTOR.

Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the new York Public Library's collections.

Thousands of audio, image, and video files in the public domain from the collection of the Pond5 stock footage company.

An open-access database of image collections shared by institutional users of Shared Shelf.

An open access collection of over 2.8 million (and counting) high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across the collections of the Smithsonian.

A vast collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.

Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, with others available for paid licensing.

A crowd-sourced, collaborative, ongoing list of US and international sources of accessible / online digital moving image material for found footage student (and non-student) filmmakers. Some of the items on this list appear below as well.

Search across several repositories, including YouTube, Google, SoundCloud, and more, for still images, music, and videos.

More than 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.

A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.

Thousands of audio, image, and video files in the public domain from the collection of the Pond5 stock footage company.

Free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project. Many clips carry a Creative Commons license.