Middle Eastern Studies
Search for Library Newspapers
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowFind newspapers in print, on microform, and ejournals. Limit to news using the options under the "Format" heading on the results page of your search.
- eJournal Collection - UMass Amherst Libraries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This search includes electronic newspapers. Search by title, subject, identifier, publisher, and more.
Current News
Library Databases
💡Tip: Many databases offer an "Advanced Search" that lets you limit your search by language.
- Access World Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and global news sources including newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. - AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local newspapers from across the African continent. 1997-present. - AP Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Associated Press' library of photographs back to 1826, plus news stories, graphics and audio 1997-present. Mac: Requires latest version of Safari or Firefox for Mac, or OS 10 and higher. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowNews from around the world in the form of newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, and podcasts. 1980s to present.
- Middle East Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
90+ current, digitized news sources from the Arab world, Southwest Asia, and surrounding countries in English, French and Arabic. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to news sources in Arabic and Turkish. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers. Full-text searchable in Arabic script. - PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
7,000+ current newspapers, magazines, and tabloids from around the world.
Open Access News Sources
News available to anyone with internet
- Al Jazeera = الجزيرةA news organization based in Wadi Al Sail, Doha, which is funded in part by the government of Qatar. It provides coverage of regional and international news, along with analysis, and documentaries in Arabic, English, and other languages.
- Al-Monitor = المونيتورA news site providing reporting and analysis from and about the Middle East with emphasis on on Egypt, the Persian Gulf, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, North Africa, Palestine, Syria, Turkey as well as Russia's relationship with the Middle East.
- JadaliyyaAn independent ezine founded in 2010 by the Arab Studies Institute (ASI) to cover the Arab World and the broader Middle East. It publishes articles in Arabic, French, English and Turkish.
News Digests in English
- EurasianetNews, information and analysis on countries in Central Asia, the Caucasus region, Russia and Southwest Asia. It is an independent news organization based at Columbia University's Harriman Institute,
- MideastWireA news service providing English translations of important, current stories from and about the Middle East. It was established in 2005 in Beirut, Lebanon and employs a team of translators around the region. They cover news from all 22 Arab countries and the Arab media Diaspora. 2005-present.
Historical Newspapers
Library Databases
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
450+ digitized British periodicals published between the 17th and early 20th century covering literature, history, science, fine arts, and social sciences. - Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new windowCatalog of CRL's large collections of primary source material including newspapers. Emphasis on non-U.S. materials with substantial holdings in Turkish and Arabic. Some materials have been digitized while the remainder are print copies that must be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Open Access Digital Collections
Full-text sources available to anyone with internet
- Arabic Newspapers at the National Library of IsraelArabic periodicals published between 1908 and 1948 including daily newspapers with an emphasis on current events; satirical magazines; and social, educational, and cultural journals, which were published on a more-or-less regular basis.
- Jrayed – Arabic Newspaper Archive of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine at the National Library of IsraelArabic newspapers and journals primarily from late Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine. The titles include a wide variety of political, cultural, religious and economic viewpoints, and span dailies to quarterly periodicals.
- Middle Eastern and North African NewspapersNews sources from the Middle East and North Africa. Predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. Late-19th through mid-20th century.
- Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Center Newspaper CollectionsCollection of digitized newspapers by and about the Lebanese diaspora in Arabic and English.
- Nashriyah: Digital Iranian History =آرشیو آنلاین نشریات دانشگاه منچسترCollection of digitized Iranian newspapers at the the University of Manchester.
- Syrian Prints Archive = ارشيف المطبوعات السوريةArchive of Syrian periodicals published in the wake of the revolution in March 2011, 70% of which are no longer issued.
Catalogs and Lists
Citations for news sources
- Alphabetical List of Open Access Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals in Middle East & Islamic StudiesList of digitized newspapers compiled from many independent projects by Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR).
- Arab World Newspapers at the Library of CongressA comprehensive list of newspaper titles published in the Arab World and diasporas, which are held at the Library of Congress in print or microform.
- Arabic Press ArchivesCatalog of news source holdings of the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies at Tel-Aviv University in print and microforms.
- Guides to MEMP CollectionsHighlights important items in the CRL (Center for Research Libraries) MEMP (Middle East Microform Project) collection including newspapers.
- Jara'id: A Chronology of Nineteenth-Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900)A research tool intended to list all periodicals published in Arabic from 1800 to 1900. It also includes a bibliography of the most important secondary sources and available union catalogues.
- MEDOC Catalog of Microforms Projects in Ottoman, Persian and ArabicCatalog of periodicals, including newspapers, on microform at the University of Chicago Library.
- The Middle East in Microform: A Union List of Middle Eastern Microforms in North AmericanA list of microforms dealing with the Middle East generally and material from the Ottoman militaria collection at the Hoover Institute. It was compiled by Fawzi W. Khoury and Michele Bates at the University of Washington Libraries in 1991.
- Middle East Research Journals Project (MERJ)A project indexing and preserving over 2,000 selected Middle Eastern journal titles in various languages held in print and microform. A small selection have been digitized. It is sponsored by the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC) through the Digital Library for International Research (DLIR) program.
- The Popular Press: Holdings in the Middle East Department at the University of Chicago LibraryA list of various publications in the collection (newspapers, journals, serials) from the 19th and 20th centuries, many of them uncataloged.
