Middle Eastern Studies
Reference Databases
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject and language dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.
Reference Sources
If you are researching an unfamiliar topic, reference sources can help you orient yourself. They can be very useful when you are narrowing down your research topic as they are:
- Sources of reviewed and concise background information
- Designed to help you easily locate the information that you need
- A way to find existing scholarly research
Encyclopedias contain short articles. In addition to general encyclopedias such as the Encyclopædia Britannica, which span human knowledge, there are specialized ones for disciplines such as Middle Eastern studies.
Dictionaries also contain articles that are usually listed in alphabetical order. They are similar to encyclopedias, but entries are usually more concise, making them a useful tool for quickly familiarizing yourself with a topic.
Bibliographies are lists of sources on a topic that can be useful because they gather relevant books, articles, and other sources in one place.
Finding Reference Sources
You can search for Middle Eastern studies reference resources in Discovery Search using Library of Congress subject headings, which are standardized tags used to describe what a book is about. Although assigning these subject headings is still a subjective process, using standardized terminology (aka controlled vocabulary) enables you to find books on a particular topic even when authors use varying terms.
Example: One author may use the word "Islam" in the title of their book. Others may use "Islamic" or "Muslim". Both would receive the subject heading "Islam" and be discoverable through a search for DE "Islam".
Sample Searches
💡Quick Tip
The Library of Congress Subject Headings page lets you search for or browse authorized headings and subdivisions. Searching for single authorized subject headings in Discovery Search is simple if you use the format in the sample searches above. You can also try combining authorized subject headings with subdivisions for more specific searches; however, don't get discouraged if stringing together multiple subject headings does not yield results! There are extensive rules governing how subject headings can be combined.
Instead of combining subject headings yourself, you can always conduct a keyword search in Discovery, find a promising book record, and click on the subject headings assigned to it to see others that have the same ones.
📚Further Reading
- Searching EBSCOhost with Default Search Fields (explains the use of DE vs SU in searches)
Selected Reference Sources
Digital Resources
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
- Historical Index of the Medieval Middle East (HIMME)A reference work identifying sources referring to particular people, places, and practices. Its temporal scope is from 600 to 1550, and its geographical scope from al-Andalus in the west to Samarqand in the east, from Yemen in the south to the Caucasus in the north. It deliberately incorporates sources from as many languages as possible.
(e)Books
Encyclopedias
- The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy by "There has been a long tradition of interest in philosophy in the Islamic world, and it is the aim of this comprehrensive reference work to represent the lives of some of the major thinkers within this tradition. The notion of philosophy has been interpreted broadly to include a large number of intellectuals who were interested in conceptual issues that either directly relate to philosophy or form part of the background of Islamic philosophy as a whole. Included are details about the lives of significant legal thinkers, theologians, political thinkers and even geographers where their lives are relevant indicators of the progress of philosophy in the Islamic world." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
- The Cambridge encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa byPublication Date: 1988
- The Continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East byPublication Date: 2002
- The Coptic encyclopedia byPublication Date: 1991
- The encyclopaedia of Islam by "The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition, now also called EI-2) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 1960-2006
- Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān by "The Qur'ān is the primary religious text for one-sixth of the world’s population. Understood by Muslims to contain God's own words, it has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. The thousands of volumes that Muslim scholars have devoted to qur'ānic interpretation and to the linguistic, rhetorical and narrative analysis of the text are sufficient to create entire libraries of qur'ānic studies. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'ān. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'ān to appear in a Western language." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2001
- Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics by "The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics represents a unique collaboration of a few hundred scholars from around the world. It covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and other related fields." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2006
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by "The Encyclopedia Of Islam And The Muslim World, 2nd Edition, is a two-volume set containing over 540 alphabetically-arranged entries designed to support students of religion and world history at the high school and undergraduate levels, as well as the general public. Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in today's world, allowing for an assessment of Islam's influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. The revamped table of contents includes entries at the forefront of current events, including entries on oil, water rights, social media, and ISIS, as well as greatly expanded coverage of Islam in specific countries. Now in full color, this beautifully illustrated set features more than fifty percent new and revised entries, including more than 170 new articles, and more than 350 maps, charts, and photos." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2004
- Encyclopedia of Islamic civilisation and religion by "With well over a thousand entries on Islamic theology, history, arts, science, law and institutions, and coverage of Islam in individual countries and cities around the world, the Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilisation and Religion provides an extremely rich resource for students and researchers in religious studies and Middle Eastern studies." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2008
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic world by "The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2010
- Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science by "The Arabic contribution is fundamental to the history of science, mathematics and technology, but until now no single publication has offered an up-to-date synthesis of knowledge in this area. In three fully-illustrated volumes the Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science documents the history and philosophy of Arabic science from the earliest times to the present day. The set as a whole covers seven centuries. Thirty chapters, written by an international team of specialists from Europe, America, the Middle East and Russia cover such areas as astronomy, mathematics, music, engineering, nautical science and scientific institutions." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2006
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa by "Since 1996, readers relied on the Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East for clear, authoritative background on one of the most complex and important regions of the world. With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second edition reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making it more relevant and more necessary than ever before. Much has changed in the past eight years, and the need for information generated by the events of September 11, 2001 and the military action in Afghanistan and Iraq makes this unbiased revision essential. The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government. With 3,000 nonpartisan articles written by specialists in anthropology, history, political science, religion and social sciences, this four-volume set is an indispensable tool in understanding the region's people, places, events and ideas." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2004
- Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire by "Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire provides a thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with more than 400 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms. With signed articles by experts in the field, this comprehensive one-volume resource also includes essential information regarding imperialism and the emerging Balkan, Arab, and Turkish nationalism; the demise of the empire; and Ottoman legacy in the Balkans and the Middle East. Further readings, approximately 85 black-and-white photographs and maps, cross-references, a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and an index complement the text and give readers an in-depth understanding of the broad and fascinating history of the Ottoman Empire." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2009
- Encyclopedia of the Palestinians byPublication Date: 2005
- Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures by "The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. A unique collaboration of over 1000 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2003
- The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture by "The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. With the fundamental understanding that Islamic art is not limited to a particular region, or to a defined period of time, the Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers pathways into Islamic culture through its art." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2009
- The Islamic world : past and present by "In addition to the more approachable language and user-friendly page layout, this reference covers events and changes of the last eight years. It also includes entirely new entries to provide coverage of the pre-modern world of Islam. Containing more than 300 articles, it provides an excellent, comprehensive resource for gaining understanding into a belief system that seems mysterious and incomprehensible to many." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2004
- The Princeton encyclopedia of Islamic political thought by "The first encyclopedia of Islamic political thought from the birth of Islam to today, this comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible reference provides the context needed for understanding contemporary politics in the Islamic world and beyond. With more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries written by an international team of specialists, the volume focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, covering central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history. Fifteen major entries provide a synthetic treatment of key topics, such as Muhammad, jihad, authority, gender, culture, minorities, fundamentalism, and pluralism. Incorporating the latest scholarship, this is an indispensable resource for students, researchers, journalists, and anyone else seeking an informed perspective on the complex intersection of Islam and politics." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2013
- The Routledge Encyclopedia of Arabic literature by "The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2010
Dictionaries
- Concise biographical companion to Index Islamicus : an international who's who in Islamic studies from its beginnings down to the twentieth century by "Taking as a starting point the inventory of authors from the renowned Index Islamicus, the author, Wolfgang Behn (Berlin), has systematically collected numerous data on the lives and works of the tens of thousands of authors listed in the Index Islamicus from 1665 to 1980." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2004
- A glossary of Islam byPublication Date: 2007
- Historical dictionaries of Asia, Oceania, and the Middle East series This series includes dictionaries covering countries of the Middle East and provides concise information on people, places, events, movements, and ideas as well as chronologies. To search for a specific country, add it in the empty search bar following the "AND" dropdown and run the search. For example: ST "Historical dictionaries of Asia, Oceania, and the Middle East" AND AfghanistanCall Number: mix of ebooks and print
- Historical dictionary of Middle Eastern cinema by "To a substantial degree cinema has served to define the perceived character of the peoples and nations of the Middle East. This book covers the production and exhibition of the cinema of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabi, Yemen, Kuwait, and Bahrain, as well as the non-Arab states of Turkey and Iran, and the Jewish state of Israel." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2010
- The Oxford Dictionary of Islam by "Designed for readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, the Oxford Dictionary of Islam provides vividly-written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. There are entries on topics of current interest such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS, but the coverage also includes biographical profiles, and entries covering major political movements, militant groups, religious sects terms from Islamic law, culture and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks. A series of entries look at Islam in individual nations, and there are discussions of Islamic views on contemporary issues." --publisher websiteCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003
- A political and economic dictionary of the Middle East by "This reference volume is the definitive guide to the economics and politics of the Middle East. It provides clear definitions detailing terms, concepts, names and organizations used in relation to current economic or political affairs in the Middle East. Entries define, explain and give further relevant information on countries, regions, ethnic groups, political parties, organizations, policies and disputes." --publisher websitePublication Date: 2004
- Who's who in the Arab world Contains biographical information on noteworthy people.Publication Date: 1966-
Bibliographies
- The Arabic novel : bibliography and critical introduction, 1865-1995 byPublication Date: 2000
- Christian Muslim relations : a bibliographical history by "Each volume contains detailed descriptions and assessments of texts written by the one community about or against the other, together with introductory and contextual essays, and an index, providing an important tool for future research. The first phase, Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History 1 (CMR1), covers the crucial period 600 to 1500 (volumes 1-5). The second phase (“CMR1900”), which will take the project up to the end of the First World War, is a work in progress. So far 21 volumes of CMR have been published." --publishers websitePublication Date: 2009
- The literature of Islam : a guide to the primary sources in English translation byCall Number: ebook (print also available)Publication Date: 2006
Atlases
- An Historical atlas of Islam [cartographic material] = Atlas historique de l'Islam byCall Number: Digitally available in the Encyclopaedia of IslamPublication Date: 2002
