Skip to main content

ArtHist 190A: Venice: Art, History, Environment

Arts databases

Caravaggio's Calling of St. Matthew

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Finding other scholarly articles

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Books on Caravaggio

Arts databases

Bellini painting of Venice

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.

Finding other scholarly articles

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books and book chapters in all European languages, on medieval studies. Citations 1967-present on the historical period 400-1500.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

There are literally thousands of additional articles on Venice  in these non-art article databases. Think outside the box!

Books on Venice

Canaletto painting of Venice lagoon

A subject search in the Five Colleges Library catalog for "Venice (Italy)," and all the various subheadings under this main heading, retrieves more than a thousand books. Some samples include

Venice (Italy)--Buildings
Venice (Italy)--Commerce
Venice (Italy)--Description and travel
Venice (Italy)--Foreign relations
Venice (Italy)--History
Venice (Italy)--History, Naval
Venice (Italy)--In art
Venice (Italy)--Pictorial works
Etc., etc.

Home

Welcome to the library course guide page for ArtHist 190A: Venice: Art, History, Environment.

This guide is intended to help you in your class work. In the database pages, I have suggested both general and art-specific databases which may have articles relating to your research. It is not, of course, exhaustive.

If you'd like an individual research consultation on your paper topic, please contact me and we'll set up a time to meet.

If you've reviewed all the presentations in the "Library research help," I drive home a few key points here.

Dr. Peter Stern
pstern@library.umass.edu
545-3967

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!

Index cards

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.