Last Updated: Nov 13, 2014
- History Department
- UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences. Covers 1975 to present.
- America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history, 1954-present.
- Kanopy Films
Streaming video of films depicting North America.
- America in Caricature 1765-1865
American political cartoons
- American Memory
Documents relating to American history and creativity, including written documents, spoken-word recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, sheet music and musical recordings.
- American Presidency Project
More than 103,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Comprehensive collection of documents relating to law, history, and government from ancient times to the current era.
- Center for History and New Media
List of links to digital libraries and archives on topics in U.S. history.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
A collection of basic U.S. federal government documents, such as the Declaration of Independence, including images of original and transcripts of text.
- Famous Speeches in History
Online audio recordings of historical speeches.
- Historical Census Browser
Interactive website of U.S. state and county census information; allows users to manipulate data, including producing tables and maps of selected data.
- Historical Maps of the United States
An extensive list of links to digitized maps from a variety of websites and digital archives around the world.
- Immigration History Research Center
List of links to documents related to U.S. immigration and refugee life, and research on international migration, including personal papers of immigrants and others in their community, government records, publications and other research.
- Making of America (Cornell)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- Mapping American History
Interactive maps of historical events, developments and dynamics.
- National Archives
Links to resources available through the U.S. National Archive.
- National Archives Presidential Libraries
Documents, records, and memorabilia of U.S. presidents, starting from 1940 (Franklin Delano Roosevelt's presidency).
- National Jukebox
Historical audio recordings, including music and spoken word in many languages.
- National Security Archive
A non-governmental collection of information relating to U.S. national security.
- Picturing History
List of links to visual resources gathered by scholars of American history and visual culture.
- The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Primary sources in American history from 1493 onwards, including more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera.
U.S. History, pre-Columbian to the new millennium
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European Studies
Revised by Helen Boos (Summer 2013)