This is the "Home" page of the "Crisis in the Ukraine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Crisis in the Ukraine  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/ukraine Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Crisis in the Ukraine

 

The long-standing crisis in Ukrainian governance has now reached a tipping point, with a Russian military occupation of the Crimean Peninsula. How Russians, Ukrainians, and the rest of the world interact will determine the outcome or resolution of the gravest crisis in East-West relations since the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.

   

Keeping current:

There are a number of blogs, newsportals, and other web resources which are keeping track of unrest and separatism in Ukraine. They include

BBC World News

Voice of America

Reuters News Agency

Ukrainian Liveblog
(Al Jazeera)

Live Blog: Ukraine On The Brink
(Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty)

Ukrainian Crisis 2014
(University College, London--School of Slavonic & East European Studies Library)

Kiev Ukraine News Blog

Voices of Ukraine

Ukraine Country Information
(Weber State University)

Fluid Future: Understanding the Black Sea as a Region
(University of Illinois, Urbana)

 

Ukrainian news sources

  • forUm
    Political, economic, and social news about Ukraine. In Ukrainian and English.
  • Ukrainian Journal
    English-language daily newsletter covering breaking political and business news from Ukraine.
  • Ukrinform
    Ukrainian and world news from the national news agency. In Ukrainian and English.
  • UNIAN
    Independent news agency. In Ukrainian and English.
    (Thanks to Dan Pennel, Russian and East European Studies Resources @ Pitt)
 

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Russian History
Online resource

The following materials are shelved in the Reference Collection, Learning Commons level:

Encyclopedia of Russian history   DK14.E53 2004

Historical Dictionary of the Russian Federation   DK36.S285 2010

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture   DK510.32.E53 2007

Shelved in the stacks are

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union    DK14.C35 1994

Cultural atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union   DK32.M62 1989+

An Ethnohistorical dictionary of the Russian and Soviet empires  DK33.E837 1994

Encyclopedia of Russian history : from the Christianization of Kiev to the break-up of the U.S.S.R   DK36.P39  1993

Leaders of Russia and the Soviet Union : from the Romanov dynasty to Vladimir Putin  DK40.P36 2004

The Great Soviet Encyclopedia  31v. AE5 .B58

 

Online Databases

Databases: Try databases which deal with Russian-Ukrainian politics, or social issues, including

Ukrainian resources in the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Russian resources in the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine
(Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies)

International Political Science Abstracts

PAIS International

Columbia International Affairs Online

ProQuest Political Science

Academic Search Premier

PolicyFile

Country resources:

EIU Country Reports

Europa World Yearbook

Newspapers & news bulletins:

LexisNexis Academic

Westlaw Campus Research

CQ Researcher
Congressional Quarterly research bulletin.

(Note: Must have UMass Username/password to access, except for the Ukrainian encyclopedia))

 

Books

Relevant subject headings for books in the Five Colleges catalog include

Crimea--
Crimean Tartars--
Russia--Foreign relations
Russia--Foreign relations--Europe
Ukraine--History
Ukraine--Foreign economic relations--Russia
Ukraine--Politics and government

etc...

Don't forget to take your search from the local to the national/international level by searching WorldCat for more books on this subject.

 

Acknowledgements

Thanks to James Kelly and Dr. Robert Rothstein for suggestions and links.

Comments & feedback to Dr. Peter Stern, Du Bois Library.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip