Skip to main content

History 315: The Russian Empire

Arts databases

Caravaggio's Calling of St. Matthew

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Finding other scholarly articles

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Books on Caravaggio

History databases

KremlinKiev RusIvan the Terrible portraitKazhaksCatherine the GreatKostromatsar

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the current issues.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

EHRAF World Cultures
Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present.

Anthropology Plus
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.

AnthroSource
The full text of the 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century.

Books on Russian history

Peter the Great

The principle subject heading in the Five Colleges Library Catalog for Russian history is

Russia--History. Under this "main heading" are hundreds of subheadings. Russian history is divided into chronological periods, such as

Russia -- History -- 1237-1480
Russia -- History -- 1533-1613
Russia -- History -- 1689-1801

as well as periods of Russian rulers, such as

Russia -- History -- Ivan IV, 1533-1584
Russia -- History -- Alexander I, 1801-1825

Russia -- History -- Catherine II, 1762-1796

etc., etc.

There are also many other relevant subject headings, such as

Russia -- History -- December Uprising, 1825
Cossacks
Nationalism--Russia
Russia--Ethnic relations
Peasants -- Russia
Church and state -- Russia
Kazakhstan
Uzbekistan
etc.

UMA WorldCat also has thousands of books, articles, websites, films, art, etc. on Russian history. Use Interlibrary Loan to have these materials brought here for your papers.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Russian History
Online resource

The following materials are shelved in the Reference Collection, Learning Commons level:

Encyclopedia of Russian history   DK14.E53 2004

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union    DK14.C35 1994

Cultural atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union   DK32.M62 1989+

An Ethnohistorical dictionary of the Russian and Soviet empires  DK33.E837 1994

Encyclopedia of Russian history : from the Christianization of Kiev to the break-up of the U.S.S.R   DK36.P39  1993

Leaders of Russia and the Soviet Union : from the Romanov dynasty to Vladimir Putin  DK40.P36 2004

Shelved in the stacks (non-circulating) is

The Great Soviet Encyclopedia  31v. AE5 .B58

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!

Index cards

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.