This is the "Home" page of the "Art History 313: High Renaissance and Mannerist Art in Italy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History 313: High Renaissance and Mannerist Art in Italy  

This library guides is designed to assist you in researching your final paper.
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/renaissance Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Article databases

  • Art Abstracts  Rating  
      
      
      
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.
  • Art Index Retrospective  Rating  
      
      
      
    An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art  Rating  
      
      
      
    Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art  Rating  
      
      
      
    The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  Rating  
      
      Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.
  • MLA International Bibliography  Rating  
    An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Finding scholarly articles

  • Historical Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.
  • JSTOR
    Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
  • Academic Search Premier
    A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.
 

Home

Titian's St. John

Welcome to the library course guide page for Art History 313: High Renaissance and Mannerist Art in Italy.

This guide is intended to help you in your class work. This course is multi-disciplinary, and encompasses many different types of academic and popular discourse.

In the database pages, I have suggested both general and art-specific databases which may have articles relating to your research. It is not, of course, exhaustive.

The best way of getting to databases in any specific discipline is to use the Research Databases Guide.

If you'd like an individual research consultation on your paper topic, please contact me and we'll set up a time to meet.

If you've reviewed all the presentations in the left column on doing research, I drive home a few key points here.

Dr. Peter Stern
pstern@library.umass.edu
545-3967

 

 

 

 

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip