Medieval Studies
Medieval Studies
A page from the Book of Kells, an illuminated manuscript created in the British Isles in the late 8th or early 9th century
ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- Five College CatalogFind books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
OTHER RESOURCES
- UMass Interlibrary LoanBorrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
- Medieval Studies Certificate ProgramA minimum of six courses; for undergraduates.
BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS
Art and Society in the Middle Ages by Call Number: N5970 .D7813 2000
The Birth of Europe, 400-1500 by Call Number: D117 .L42 2005Feudal Society by
Call Number: D131 .B513 1961
Justinian's Flea by Call Number: DF556 .R67 2007The Three Orders by
Call Number: HN425 .D78313
LIBRARY DATABASES
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than two million digital images of works of fine art, architecture and design. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books and book chapters in all European languages, on medieval studies. Citations 1967-present on the historical period 400-1500. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
- Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to 1000: encyclopedia of the barbarian world byCall Number: UM Reference e-resource E-Book D62ISBN: 0684314215Publication Date: 2004
- Library of Latin TextsDigital version of the majority of extant Latin texts, searchable by author, word(s) in text, period, and more. Before 200 B.C.E.–1965.
- New Catholic EncyclopediaISBN: 0787676942Publication Date: 2004-04-01Ebook! Try the link. You may have to login with your Netid.
- The Hutchinson dictionary of ancient & medieval warfare byCall Number: Five College E-Resources D25.A2 H88 2005Publication Date: 2005
- The late medieval age of crisis and renewal, 1300-1500 : a biographical dictionary byCall Number: Five College E-Resources CB353 .L38 2001Publication Date: 2001
- The rise of the medieval world, 500-1300 : a biographical dictionary byCall Number: Five College E-Resources CT114 .R57 2002Publication Date: 2002
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- British Library Catalogue of Illuminated ManuscriptsUse this website to find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library, one of the richest collections in the world.
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval ManuscriptsDesigned to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.
- Digital ScriptoriumAn image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions.
- EpistolæEpistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters include references and translations.
- Internet Medieval SourcebookThe Internet Medieval Sourcebook is provided by Fordham University and is a large collection of internet resources.
- The LabyrinthAn online collection of links provided by Georgetown University for the Medieval Studies.
- Luminarium: Anthology of Middle English LiteratureAn anthology of Middle English Literature collected online and provided without subscription.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica DigitalComprehensive series of carefully edited and published sources for the study of German history (broadly conceived) from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. This collection, as well as the menus, are in German with no English translation.
- Online Medieval & Classical Libraryhe Online Medieval and Classical Library is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
- Online Resources for MedievalistsAlthough by no means comprehensive, this list offers a selection of websites that are highly useful for medievalists.
- Orb: On-line Reference Book for Medieval StudiesThe ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students.
- Patrologia LatinaExtensive collection of early Christian Latin texts (from Tertullian 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III 1216 AD). The entire collection is in Latin with no English translation.
- TEAMS Middle English TextsTEAMS Middle English text series makes available to teachers and students Middle English texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions.
OTHER INTERNET RESOURCES
- The Aberdeen Bestiary ProjectThe Aberdeen Bestiary is a 12th century English illuminated manuscript.
- Bodleian Library Illuminated MaunscriptsAbout a thousand images of Illuminated Manuscripts in Oxford University's Bodleian Library can be reached from this page. Information about the manuscripts and the digital images can be found at the bottom of this page, and at the bottom of the pages with the images themselves.
- Demons and Devotion: The Hours of Catherine of ClevesThis digital facsimile provides reproductions of all 157 miniatures (and facing text pages) from the Hours of Catherine of Cleves located at the Morgan Library and Museum.
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval CivilizationThe Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization provides Geographic Information Systems (GIS) tools to work with maps.
- The Domesday BookDomesday Book is a detailed survey of the land held by William the Conqueror and his people, and is one of the earliest surviving public records.
- Islamic Heritage ProjectHarvard’s collections of Islamic manuscripts, and maps from the 10th through 20th centuries.
- MARGOT ProjectMARGOT is a research project dedicated to publishing fully searchable editions of texts from the French Middle Ages and the Early Modern period.
- The Medieval Academy
The Medieval Academy of America is the largest organization in the United States promoting excellence in the field of medieval studies. It was founded in 1925 and is based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The academy publishes the quarterly journal Speculum, and awards prizes, grants, and fellowships such as the Haskins Medal. - Regnum Francorum OnlineInteractive maps and sources of Late Antique and Early Medieval Europe
- Virtual Monastic Library of LorschBibliotheca Laureshamensis - digital, gathers 300 medieval manuscripts from 68 different libraries.
OTHER REFERENCE RESOURCES
Atlas of the Medieval World by Call Number: D117 .M35 2004
The Cambridge Illustrated History of the Middle Ages by Call Number: CB351 .M7813
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by Call Number: DA129 .C67 2004
Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe by Call Number: D135 .F73 2003
Encyclopedia of the Medieval World by Call Number: D114 .E55 2005
Penguin Historical Atlas of the Vikings by Call Number: G1034 .H3 1995
The Worlds of Medieval Europe by Call Number: D131 .B33 2009
Revision History
Guide revised by Pablo Morales Henry (Summer 2012); Jason Fuller (Fall 2012); Rachel Good (Summer 2013); Kristin Cook (Spring 2015)
