Kinesiology

Getting Started

Just want to know where to get started searching for articles about topics in Kinesiology? Try one of these databases:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text sports and sport medicine journals. Subject coverage: coaching, consumer health, exercise science, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health/safety, physical education, physical therapy, sport sciences. Includes the NCAA News, 2005 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Visible Body Suite

With our last renewal, we gained access to the new Visible Body Suite platform.

The new platform requires you to create an account to be able to access content and get access to the mobile app.

The Visible Body Suite refers to the whole package that we now have access to and is also the name of the tool that replaced the old Human Anatomy Atlas. Our access now includes Visible Biology, Muscle Premium, Physiology Animations, and Anatomy & Physiology. There are 3D models and simulations, flashcards, 3D tours, and augmented reality.

NOTE: Even if you had an account on the old platform, you have to create a new one for the updated platform.

Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Can be accessed on computer, or as a mobile app. (You will need to download the app for your device on the App Store or Google Play.)
You will need to download the app for your device on the App Store or Google Play.

UPDATED INSTRUCTIONS for getting Visible Body Suite on your mobile device!

Using the link above, Sign In to your Visible Body account. (Remember, if you haven't created a new account on the updated platform, you need to do that first.
Once you are signed in, under Visible Body Suite, click the orange button that says Get the Mobile App.
You will be prompted for your email address to send a link to get Visible Body from the App Store or Google Play without paying for it.
Open the email on whatever mobile devices you want to download it on and click the App Store or Google Play link.
After the app is downloaded on your mobile device, open the app.
Sign in with the same email and password you used when creating your Visible Body account.

You do have to re-authenticate your account every 150 days by signing into the web version of Visible Body.

Want to learn more about Visible Body Suite? Check out their Getting Started page for tips on navigating and customizing.