Spanish-language Media & Latinx Cultural Production

Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.

To find books at UMass, you have two options.

1. Start with the general search box on the library home page, www.library.umass.edu.  
Advantages:

• This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.
• Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks!

2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.
Advantages:
This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes. See below for some examples of relevant subject headings.

The Library of Congress subject heading for Latinos is "Hispanic Americans"

Sample searches for this class:

• Hispanic American Mass Media
• Hispanic American Motion Picture Actors and Actresses
• Hispanic American Motion Picture Producers and Directors
• Hispanic Americans and Mass Media
• Hispanic Americans In Motion Pictures

If UMass doesn't have the book(s) you need, try the other Five Colleges. You can order books easilly by clicking on the "Request Item" link.

Use Net Library and ebrary - for online books

TIP: Use WorldCat when UMass and Five College system are not sufficient. We will order books for you from almost anywhere - at no charge to you.

1. Use RefWorks to manage your citations and create your bibliography. 
2. After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

Academic Search Premier - A multidisciplinary database with journals from many different fields. 

Alt-PressWatch - Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement.

America: History and Life - Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history

ComAbstracts - Indexes and abstracts communications journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete - Abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including core journals in communication and many in language studies. 

Ethnic NewsWatch - Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Most articles are in English, but many from Latino periodicals are in Spanish.

Film Literature Index - Citations to articles appearing in film journals from 130 countries. Includes both scholarly and popular periodicals.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - Citations to articles from social science and humanities journals in English, Spanish, and other languages, relating to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Historical NY Times - The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files. Time Period Covered: 1851-1999.

Informe - Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.

International Index to Music Periodicals Fulltext: IIMP Citations, abstracts, and full text of articles from music periodicals

International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA  Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry

Mintel Oxygen - Market reports. Retailing, healthcare, technology, and tourism markets. Includes market drivers, size, segments, advertising. (Available to UMass Amherst students, librarians, and faculty only through an individual account which must be set up using a UMass email address.)

MLA International Bibliography - Indexes many articles about language, literature and film.

Readers' Guide Abstracts - Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines. Time Period Covered: 1890-present. 

Web of Science - Allows multidisciplinary searches combining arts, humanities, social science and science. Good for seeing who cited whom. Good for academic book reviews. 

Fill out this anonymous evaluation form and give us feedback on the library instruction by librarian Isabel Espinal.