Sustainability
Growing healthier communities based on sustainable energy use, agricultural production, building design, economic development and more.
Valley Spotlight
Greening the Valley - Research Database
This database* is a supplement to the 2010 exhibition at the UMass Fine Arts Center, "Greening the Valley:
Sustainable Architecture in the Pioneer Valley." It focuses on resources of the built environment, of contemporary
architecture, and of renewable technology. It also touches on economic
and social sustainability.
*Created by Eva Fierst and Kim Carlino from the
University Gallery, UMass. The
software used for this map is VUE, an open source program created by
Tufts University.
Encyclopedia of Associations
- Encyclopedia of Associations This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Directory of organizations, associations and non-profit membership groups in three parts: National, International, Regional/local. Provides contact information and descriptions; searchable by subject.
Resources in the Pioneer Valley
- Amherst Food CoopAmherst Community Co-op will be a worker and consumer owned grocery store that is governed according to democratic and inclusive principles, providing wholesome, affordable, and locally-produced foods that reflect the diversity of our community.
- Center for Ecological TechnologyDemonstrates and promotes practical, affordable solutions to the environmental challenges encountered in our daily activities.
- Collective CopiesWorker-owned, locally-owned collective and union shop which donates 10% of their profits each year in response to requests from student/youth groups, organizations and individuals. They use recycled paper and offer a selection of tree-free alternatives.
- Common Good FinanceBased in Ashfield, MA, a democratic, community-based system that supports and empowers ordinary people to put an end to war, poverty, hunger, unemployment and global warming, before it is too late. This is not just another bank with a social mission. This is a social mission with a bank!
- Commonwealth Center for ChangeFacilitates a network of mutual support and collaboration that sustains and strengthens a dynamic creative community -- "C3 is a reflection of you, it is a collection of opportunities to meet, see, support, share resources, learn from and contribute to the direction of your community."
- Community Involved in Sustaining Agriculture (CISA)Strengthens local agriculture by building connections between farmers and the community.
- Farm to Fork: The Pioneer Valley's Local Food and Agriculture Show"Every other Tuesday 6:30-7:30pm. WXOJ-LP, 103.3fm, Valley Free Radio. Live audiostream: www.valleyfreeradio.org
- Farmers Markets in Western MassachusettsDirectory of locations, hours, etc.
- Free Cycle AmherstFree exchange of goods, right in your neighborhood! Your trash is another person's treasure. Keep it out of the landfill!
- Going Green: The Valley Guide to an Eco-friendly LifestyleGreenfield Recorder publication
- Grease Car Vegetable Fuel SystemsProducts and services for vegetable fuel system vehicles. Based in Holyoke MA.
- Green Living JournalHeadquartered in Brattelboro, VT but covers much of the Pioneer Valley.
- HAP: The Region's Housing PartnershipThe region's housing partnership for Hampden and Hampshire Counties in Western Massachusetts.
- Hitchcock Center for the EnvironmentFosters a greater awareness and understanding of our natural world and to develop environmentally literate citizens. Offers natural history programs for people of all ages and backgrounds.
- Holyoke Consumer Health LibraryProvides Holyoke residents with access to health information to empower them to better advocate for their health needs.
- Just Food NowJFN was created to share resources and ideas related to global climate change impacts on food; the effect of Peak Oil on food; the threat of Global Pandemic. We also consider how to "grow food justly” at home; on nearby farms; and in the global marketplace.
- New England Small Farm InstitutePromotes small farm development by providing information and training for aspiring, beginning and transitioning farmers.
- New England Wildflower SocietyPromotes the conservation of temperate North American flora through education, research, horticulture, habitat preservation, and advocacy. Owner of Nasami Farm in Whately, MA.
- NOFA Mass (Northeast Organic Farming Association)Non profit organization of nearly 4,000 farmers, gardeners, and consumers working to promote healthy food, organic farming practices and a cleaner environment. Information about conferences, workshops, farm tours and printed materials to educate farmers, gardeners, consumers and land care professionals.
- Northeast Sustainable Agriculture Working GroupA regional network of member organizations and individuals working together to create a more sustainable and secure regional food system -- one that is economically viable, environmentally sound and socially just and produces safe and healthful food. We w
- Northeast Sustainable Energy AssociationThe nation's leading regional membership organization promoting sustainable energy through a growing network of professionals and sustainable energy advocates committed to responsible energy.
- Nuestras RaicesA grass-roots organization that promotes economic, human and community development in Holyoke, Massachusetts through projects relating to food, agriculture and the environment.
- Pedal PeopleHuman-powered delivery and hauling service
for the Northampton, Massachusetts area - Pioneer Valley Biochar InitiativeFarmers, foresters, professors, students and concerned citizens promoting public awareness of biochar as a soil amendment that can increase soil productivity and enhance crop health when incorporated into farm, forest and garden soils.
- Pioneer Valley Community Supported AgricultureDirectory of farms which sell seasonal shares to community members.
- Pioneer Valley Local FirstWorks with local, independent businesses to help them do more local purchasing.
- Pioneer Valley Planning CommissionRegional planning body for the Pioneer Valley region, which encompasses 43 cities and towns in the Hampden and Hampshire county areas. Increases communication, cooperation, and coordination among government agencies as well as private and civic sectors.
- Pioneer Valley Sustainability NetworkA broad-based network that builds mutually beneficial partnerships to promote a sustainable, just, regenerative future for our region. We bring our vision into being through collaborative support and action on specific projects in service to our community
- PV SquaredWorker-owned business providing turnkey renewable energy system installations at homes, businesses, municipalities and institutions.
- Ride BuzzInnovative ridesharing program
in the Pioneer Valley -- and beyond! - River Valley MarketMember-owned natural food cooperative located in Northampton, MA. Open to all.
- Sea Change RadioWeekly radio show covering the shifts to social, environmental, and economic sustainability. Nationally syndicated and podcast globally.
- Seeds of SolidarityA nonprofit organization that provides people of all ages with the inspiration and practical tools to use renewable energy and grow food in their communities. Based at Seeds of Solidarity Farm which runs on alternative energy.
- Sirius CommunityIntentional community in Shutesbury, MA which focuses on ecology and spirituality.
- Sustainability Library in Cummington, MALocated at the Creamery cooperative in Cummington, MA. Open to the public. See "Sustainability" on their website.
- The Toolbox for Education and Social ActionWorker-owned cooperative that specializes in developing educational resources for social and economic justice.
- The Vegan Bus - A Vehicle of TransformationA group of Northampton-based activists, artists and speakers traveling on a full sized school bus running on waste vegetable oil. They use art, performance, and media to increase public awareness about the connections between dietary choice, personal health, cultural ethics, and globally sustainable ecology.
- Valley Time TradeA tool for strengthening communities across diversity. One hour equals one Time Dollar – the system is based on five principles including 1. All people have assets, 2. Reciprocity makes communities stronger, 3. Interconnection – we all need each other, 4. Much work is priceless – caring for friends and loved ones for example, and 5. Respect.
- Zip Cars at UMass AmherstDaily/hourly car rental. Amherst College and Smith College have hubs.
Sustainabilty Programs in the Region
- BioCitizen, Westhampton MAProvides educational services within the field of environmental philosophy, including operating a school that teaches this subject in both traditional indoor classroom settings and outdoors at local, national and international sites.
- Conway School of Landscape Design, Conway MAGraduate Program in Sustainable Landscape Planning and Design
- Enviro Studies - Antioch University New England, Keene NHDept. of Environmental Studies
- Farming & Food Systems - Greenfield Community College, Greenfield MAAlso programs in Sustainable Practices in Construction; Renewable Energy/Energy Efficiency; Environmental Studies/Natural Resources
- Green Mountain College, Poultney, VTCombines the skills and content of a strong liberal arts course of study with a focus on the environment. Experiential learning is also central to a GMC education.
- Marlboro College Graduate School, Brattleboro VTMBA in Management for Sustainability
- MBA - Antioch University New England, Keene NHOnline MBA in Sustainability
- Rudolph Steiner Institute, Eastham MASocial ecology and spiritually grounded understanding of current global issues are central to their mission. One-week intensives as well as three-week courses.
- School of Living Arts for Creative & Ecological Culture, New Lebanon NYLand-based learning center offering classes, exhibitions, lectures, workshops and trainings that foster a values-based creativity and promote a culture that is in harmony with nature.
- Sustainability Studies - Holyoke Community College, Holyoke MAAssociates Degree in Sustainability Studies. Focus on Natural Science, Social Equity or Communication. Includes research, engagement in cross-disciplinary Learning Communities, and field experiences with faculty, peers, and members of the HCC community.
- Union Institute, Brattleboro VTOnline B.A. in Environmental Studies and more
- University of the Wild, Petersham MAEarth-based education programs that empower people to become leaders in growing new and sustainable cultures.
Valley Spotlight
The Pioner Valley Planning Commission has been awarded funds for a Regional Sustainability Plan. The grant is funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development and the Environmental Protection Agency and will be used to create a regional sustainability plan that integrates housing, water quality, climate action, transportation, environmental and food issues into a unified document. To learn more about the project, contact Brian Markey at bmarkey@pvpc.org
