Résumés & cover lettersWriting a Letter
Admin Sign In 

Course guide for NATRES&E 397A 

Professional Writing for the College of Natural Resources and the Environment (NRE)
Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/nrewrit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

Contact Naka with questions, or get help from the links below:

Ask a Librarian!

RefWorks at UMass Amherst - citation manager

Writing Center @ Du Bois Library Learning Commons (577-1293)


Department and program websites

Natural Resources Conservation Department

- Building Materials & Wood Technology Program / publications

- Environmental Sciences Program or older site with more information

- Forestry, Urban Forestry, Arboriculture Program

- Natural Resource Studies

- Wildlife & Fisheries Conservation

Veterinary and Animal Sciences Department

 
 

Full subject guides

This guide focuses on the writing aspect of this course.  More extensive guides for the subject areas covered course below.  Check them out!

Environmental Science

Natural Resources Conservation

Veterinary & Animal Sciences

Quick List of Databases to Find Articles

Selected databases to help you find articles on your topic. Your specific topic may call for a different database. Talk to your librarian if you need help.

IMPORTANT: Accessing databases from off-campus requires log-in with your OIT user and password.

Agricola
Indexes articles in "applied biology" including aquaculture & fisheries, forestry, veterinary medicine, wildlife management & conservation, extension & education. From the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. 1970-present.

CAB Abstracts
Similar subject coverage to Agricola but produced by the British Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux. Longer date coverage: 1910-present

Engineering Village
Indexes engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present. Useful for engineering aspects of Building Materials and Wood Technology research.

Environment Index
Indexes articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950’s- present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database
of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1966-present. Public access version

Web of Science
Indexes selected peer-reviewed journals. Sciences covered from 1900-present. Special feature: Extensive cross-indexing of cited references in all articles.

      
     

    Science Librarian

    Profile ImageNaka Ishii
    Contact Info:
    Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library (ISEL)
    Lederle Grad Research Ctr low-rise 2nd floor
    My cube phone: (413) 545-1656
    ISEL main number: (413) 545-1370
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Food Science, Microbiology, Natural Resouces Conservation, Plant/Soil/Insect Sciences, Veterinary & Animal Sciences,

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait