Guide to Medieval Studies
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2013
The Worlds of Medieval Europe
Call Number: D131 .B33 2009
Encyclopedia of the Medieval World
Call Number: D114 .E55 2005
The Cambridge Illustrated History of the Middle Ages
Call Number: CB351 .M7813
Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe
Call Number: D135 .F73 2003
Atlas of the Medieval World
Call Number: D117 .M35 2004
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases
Call Number: DA129 .C67 2004
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education, physical, and biological sciences. Covers 1975 to present.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, books and book chapters in all European languages, on medieval studies. Citations 1967-present on the historical period 400-1500.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.
- British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Use this website to find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library, one of the richest collections in the world.
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
Designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.
- Digital Scriptorium
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions.
Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters include references and translations.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is provided by Fordham University and is a large collection of internet resources.
- Luminarium: Anthology of Middle English Literature
An anthology of Middle English Literature collected online and provided without subscription.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital
Comprehensive series of carefully edited and published sources for the study of German history (broadly conceived) from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. This collection, as well as the menus, are in German with no English translation.
- Online Medieval & Classical Library
he Online Medieval and Classical Library is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
- Online Resources for Medievalists
Although by no means comprehensive, this list offers a selection of websites that are highly useful for medievalists.
- Orb: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students.
- Patrologia Latina
Extensive collection of early Christian Latin texts (from Tertullian 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III 1216 AD). The entire collection is in Latin with no English translation.
- TEAMS Middle English Texts
TEAMS Middle English text series makes available to teachers and students Middle English texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions.
- The Labyrinth
An online collection of links provided by Georgetown University for the Medieval Studies.
- What Every Medievalist Should Know
Essential bibliographic guide to the field (part of Orb: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies listed above)
- Bodleian Library Illuminated Maunscripts
About a thousand images of Illuminated Manuscripts in Oxford University's Bodleian Library can be reached from this page. Information about the manuscripts and the digital images can be found at the bottom of this page, and at the bottom of the pages with the images themselves.
- Demons and Devotion: The Hours of Catherine of Cleves
This digital facsimile provides reproductions of all 157 miniatures (and facing text pages) from the Hours of Catherine of Cleves located at the Morgan Library and Museum.
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization
The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization provides Geographic Information Systems (GIS) tools to work with maps.
- Islamic Heritage Project
Harvard’s collections of Islamic manuscripts, and maps from the 10th through 20th centuries.
- MARGOT Project
MARGOT is a research project dedicated to publishing fully searchable editions of texts from the French Middle Ages and the Early Modern period.
- Regnum Francorum Online
Interactive maps and sources of Late Antique and Early Medieval Europe
- The Aberdeen Bestiary Project
The Aberdeen Bestiary is a 12th century English illuminated manuscript.
- The Domesday Book
Domesday Book is a detailed survey of the land held by William the Conqueror and his people, and is one of the earliest surviving public records.
- Virtual Monastic Library of Lorsch
Bibliotheca Laureshamensis - digital, gathers 300 medieval manuscripts from 68 different libraries.
Research and Liaison Services
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
(413) 577-1536 (fax)Send Email
, Film Studies
, German and Scandinavian Studies
, Library Science
, Medieval Studies
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European Studies
The Three Orders
Call Number: HN425 .D78313
The Birth of Europe, 400-1500
Call Number: D117 .L42 2005
Art and Society in the Middle Ages
Call Number: N5970 .D7813 2000
Call Number: D131 .B513 1961
Call Number: DF556 .R67 2007
Guide revised by Pablo Morales Henry (Summer 2012); Jason Fuller (Fall 2012); Rachel Good (Summer 2013)