Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

MARKETNG 491S Small Business Marketing

UMass Amherst Library Business Collection


Welcome UMass Business Students!

Get help.  Contact Business Librarian Alison Messier for help with homework assignments, thesis preparation, special projects or any questions about using the UMass Library. For instant service, go to Ask Us.

Collection Types. Scholarly - peer reviewed journals, dissertations, e-books, conference proceedings and more.  Professional - trade journals and magazines, business newspapers, company directories, data sets, data maps and current high-value report collections - company, industry and market reports.

Key Library Databases for Client Projects

Jackson & Connor

Jackson & Connor (J&C) bills itself as a "stylish boutique for traditional men's clothing". I have provided you with a broad-based list of resources for your research. These resources represent suggestions that might apply to your proposed marketing plan. It is not meant to be an exhaustive list.

  • Mintel Academic. Mintel is a market research publisher that analyzes a wide range of consumer markets. These reports describe the consumer and market for clothing in great detail: The Luxury Consumer US; Men's Clothing US; American Lifestyles: Implications of Being On Display US (especially the category review for clothing & accessories).
  • MarketResearch.com Academic. This resource provides an up-to-date report, Men's Clothing, U.S. It discusses retail shopping across many different types of stores,  including specialty ones like J&C.
  • IBISWorld. IBISWorld provides industry reports, primarily in the United States. These reports: Men's Clothing Store in the US; Department Stores in the US.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete. Use this database from ProQuest to search an extensive collection of business periodicals and trade publications.
  • Mergent Intellect. This database brings together Hoover's Company Profiles and information from Dun & Bradstreet to provide a directory of U.S. and international businesses, as well as First Research industry reports. Use this database to locate business details, financial data, competitors, and industry information.

Vanished Valley Brewing Company

Vanished Valley calls itself a "small-batch craft brewery focusing on high quality ingredients, precision brewing and customer relationships." They provide beer at their brewery, with different varieties available daily, as well as on tap at other local bars and establishments. As with above suggestions, these resources do not represent an exhaustive list.

  • Mintel Academic. Reports about craft beer, breweries, and consumers, including: Beer and Craft Beer US; Alcoholic Beverage Drinking Occasions US; On-premise Alcohol Trends US.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic. This report: Beer United States. The report is from 2017, but includes projections through to 2021, and provides valuable information about the marketplace.
  • IBISWorld. Provides comprehensive industry analysis. Relevant reports include Breweries in the US; Craft Beer Production in the US; and Beer Wholesaling in the US.
  • Mergent Intellect. This database brings together Hoover's Company Profiles and information from Dun & Bradstreet to provide a directory of U.S. and international businesses, as well as First Research industry reports. Use this database to locate business details, financial data, competitors, and industry information.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete. Use this database from ProQuest to search an extensive collection of business periodicals and trade publications.

Circuit City Coffee

Circuit City Coffee bills themselves as a "specialty coffee shop" that brings "value to downtown Westfield". Their website advertises their mission to be "a place for connection". These suggestions represent just a few of the many available resources from the library. Please follow up with the librarian if you need assistance.

  • Mintel Academic. Reports about consumers of coffee and specialty beverages, including: Coffee and Tea on Premise US; On-premise Restaurant Technology US; Quick Service Restaurants US.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic. These reports: U.S. Beverage Market Outlook 2019, specifically the sections on coffee and ready-to-drink coffee; Restaurants & Foodservice U.S.
  • IBISWorld. Current and comprehensive industry analysis. Relevant reports include: Coffee & Snack Shops in the US; The Retail Market for Coffee in the US; Accommodation and Food Services in the US.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete. Use this database from ProQuest to search an extensive collection of business periodicals and trade publications.
  • Mergent Intellect. This database brings together Hoover's Company Profiles and information from Dun & Bradstreet to provide a directory of U.S. and international businesses, as well as First Research industry reports. Use this database to locate business details, financial data, competitors, and industry information.

Visage Hair Salon

Visage Salon is a "full-service beauty salon offering the highest quality of service to all our customers." Below is a broad-based list of resources for your market plan research.

  • Mintel Academic. Market research reports about salons, hair care, and consumers' behavior, including: Salon Services US; Shampoo, Conditioner, and Hairstyling Products US; Beauty and Personal Care Accessories US.
  • IBISWorld. Comprehensive industry analysis. These reports: Hair Salons in the US; Wig and Hairpiece Stores in the US.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete. Use this database from ProQuest to search an extensive collection of business periodicals and trade publications.
  • Mergent Intellect. This database brings together Hoover's Company Profiles and information from Dun & Bradstreet to provide a directory of U.S. and international businesses, as well as First Research industry reports. Use this database to locate business details, financial data, competitors, and industry information.
  • A couple of more databases to try for related reports are Passport (Euromonitor) and Plunkett Research Online. Please follow-up with the librarian for more information.