Law and Legal Studies

International law

International law is the law governing the relationships between sovereign nations and international organizations such as the United Nations.

Treaties in Force (U.S. Dept of State)
Documents describing all treaties (bilateral and multilateral) to which the United States is a party.
GlobaLex
A collection of resources on international, foreign, and comparative law. Includes summaries of the governmental and legal systems of 180 countries.

World Treaty Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's subscription-based database of treaties from 1648 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains the texts of over 50,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreement, in their original languages and French and English, 1920s to present.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, international tribunals and judicial decisions.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary source. Covers about 190 jurisdictions.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.