Law and Legal Studies

Foreign law resources

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes information about the country and its legal system. Browse by country or by topic.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

GlobaLex
A collection of resources on international, foreign, and comparative law. Includes summaries of the governmental and legal systems of 180 countries.
LII World Laws
Links to legal resources of other countries.
Foreign and International Law
Library of Congress' legal research guides and bibliographies for several countries.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's collection of foreign and international legislation and case law. Can be searched or browsed by title or subject.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose International Materials from the home page.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Books about Canadian law can be found in the KE section on the 6th floor.

GlobaLex: Researching Canadian Law
A legal research guide for Canadian law.
The Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide
The basics of Canadian legal research, pointing to many free and subscription-based databases.
Legaltree
A collaboratively-built legal resources web site.
CanLII
The Canadian Legal Information Institute database of Canadian laws, court cases, secondary sources, and commentary.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose International Materials > Canada.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Canadiana.ca
The Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.