Use this guide as an introduction to basic United States legal research
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2015
- Legal Information Institute (Cornell University Law School)
"A not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost."
"Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. We are especially focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet."
Law review articles are often one of the best places to begin legal research. Recent articles can provide you with in-depth discussions about legal issues, as well as references to relevant cases, statutes and/or regulations. Click on the Law Reviews tab above for information about databases that include law reviews and other law-related publications.
Includes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, classic legal treatises from the 18th and 19th centuries, and English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867).
- Law: Digital Commons Network
Open access academic research from top universities on the subject of Law.
- Law Review Commons
Large Free and Open Database of Legal Scholarship Published by Law Reviews.
- LexisNexis Academic
U.S. case, statutory and administrative law; law reviews; legal newspapers; legal dictionaries, Shepard's Citations; EU, Commonwealth and Other Nations.
- Social Law Library
Unique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions.
- Subject Compilations of State Laws
An index of articles, books, court opinions, and other publications that compare state laws, with many links to full text. Searchable by subject, 1925-current with a two year lag.
- Westlaw Campus Research
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; U.S. case, statutory, and administrative law.
Same content as Westlaw Campus Research (see above) with different user interface.