Keep your research organized
Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.
Finding Books
For books at UMass, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog and click on the UMass link. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). You can use broad categories to browse for sub-topics or to later limit (by date, words in subject or words in title) for more focussed results.
The Library subject heading for Latinos is "Hispanic Americans"
Sample searches for this class:
- Hispanic American Mass Media
- Hispanic American Motion Picture Actors and Actresses
- Hispanic American Motion Picture Producers and Directors
- Hispanic Americans and Mass Media
- Hispanic Americans In Motion Pictures
If UMass doesn't have
the book(s) you need, try the other Five Colleges. You can order books easilly by clicking on the "Request Item" link.
Use Net Library and Google Books - for online books
TIP: Use WorldCat and Other Library Catalogs when UMass and Five College system are not sufficient. We will order books for you from almost anywhere - at no charge to you.
Tips for databases
- Use RefWorks to manage your citations and create your bibliography.
- After
you've run a search, use the
button to retrieve articles or to be
taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article
if UMass does not have it.
Databases
- Academic Search Premier - A multidisciplinary database with journals from many different fields.
- Alt-PressWatch - Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement.
- ComAbstracts - Indexes and abstracts communications journals.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - Abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including core journals in communication and many in language studies.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch - Full-text articles from the newspapers, magazines
and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. Most articles
are in English, but many from Latino periodicals are in Spanish.
- Film Literature Index - Citations to articles appearing in film journals from 130 countries. Includes both scholarly and popular periodicals.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - Citations to articles from social science and humanities journals in English, Spanish, and other languages, relating to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
- Historical
NY Times - The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files.
Time Period Covered: 1851-1999.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Fulltext: IIMP Citations, abstracts, and full text of articles from music periodicals
- International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA Citations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry
- MLA International Bibliography - Indexes many articles about language, literature and film.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective - Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines. Time Period Covered: 1890-1982.
- Web of Science - Allows multidisciplinary searches combining arts, humanities, social science and science. Good for seeing who cited whom. Good for academic book reviews.
Please Give Us Feedback!
Librarian |
Isabel Espinal![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
413-545-6817
iespinal@library.umass.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Afro American Studies, Native American Indian Studies, Information Literacy
About Me
I do Reference and Research Consultations: Fall 2009 - Mondays 10:30-12:30 & Wednesdays 4-6, Reference & Research Assistance Desk, Learning Commons, W.E.B. Du Bois Library. And by appointment.
Description
Loading content... please wait

| 







Loading content... please wait